Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

TRESHUR

by Zupoman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about digging in the ground, in order to get the TRESHUR buried deep beneath the surface of earth.
Sounds easy, but for some reason there are airplanes in the sky, dropping bombs and enemies at you.

A few tips on playing:
- Keep the hole narrow, wider holes take longer time to dig.
- Don't attack enemies falling directly on you. It's likely to get you killed.
- Keep your eye on the bombers.

This is my first Ludum Dare ever. Thanks for playing. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#82Fun3.77
#173Overall3.65
#284Humor2.91
#295Innovation3.45
#308Theme3.55
#319Mood3.27
#536Graphics3.19
#633Audio2.62

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really good game! It's quite addicting :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Pretty good, it's so hard, but I like hard games ;)

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Very fun to play! I liked the low-fi aesthetic in both the graphics and sound, which complement each other well. The digging mechanic is well implemented, and works well with the planes dropping bombs on you. All round a really solid enrty. Hard though - I couldn't beat it. Can I ask what happens when you reach the TRESHUR?

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice! Surprisingly addictive I agree. Really enjoyed it. :)

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I was so much under pressure... But I had fun, I like this style.

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

wow hard game but very engaging! good job. also liked the oldschool monochrome style :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Came so close. Wonderfully addictive, nothing jarring except the constant deaths. Well done!

mandrake says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

This was incredibly fun and challenging!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

That was fun, addictive and challenging.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very cool game, nice idea, addicting even... Would wish for a full screen mode! :)

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Neat concept once I got the hang of digging/attack timing. I don't think I have the patience to beat it, but rather addictive.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

That was really fun. thanks for making!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Well, that was addicting. And hard. Tried about 8 times before giving up. It was fun. Neat mechanic.

Zupoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

@CheeseyBob, All you get is just a winner screen. I had no time to think and make some funny ending. Sorry :(

Thanks for the comments, guys :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Pretty solid, polished game. :D
My only grievance is how annoying the digging noise got. It got VERY annoying. But well done! :D

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very solid entry. The graphics were simple, but looked good. The game itself was addicting and fun. Awesome job.

acerunox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Great game, pretty hard.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

Played so many times and never even got close! Fun game!

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Pretty good. The game has a good feel, the mechanics are simple but effective, and the art style, sound, and theme all fit well together. Digging isn't the most creative use of the theme but the game itself is very playable.

A few thoughts on how to improve:

Right now there is no feedback that allows the player to prepare to respond to bombs. This may be an intentional part of the minimalist aesthetic but it makes the experience more frustrating. Knowing when they are about to drop the bomb would give you time to prepare or dodge.

Attack enemies is wonky at times. The hitboxes heavily favor the enemies in a way that felt more frustrating than satisfying. I could only routinely kill enemies if they came at me from the side. If they were angled or landing on me I almost always died. This didn't feel right.

Not being able to dig sideways felt odd. In reality, there was only one critical path - dig straight down as fast as possible. The problem with this is there is no real way to dodge bombs if you do this. Essentially you're setting yourself up for a situation where winning is more a matter of luck than skill. This is not so enjoyable.

Add more player agency and this would be a great game.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I WANT TRESHUR BUT TRESHUR TO HARD TO GET :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]