Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sandbox

by quade81 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a creature living in a sandbox and your goal is to rid your home of the debris from the lot next door.

You are constantly moving forward use the A and D keys to turn left and right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#34Innovation4.12
#83Theme3.90
#222Graphics3.74
#459Overall3.27
#530Mood3.00
#542Humor2.45
#548Audio2.79
#724Fun2.84

Comments

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

This was a lot harder then I thought it would be, I was struggling with the controls a lot, I wonder if locking the camera to the player would make it easier to move.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

Original idea. A bit too difficult for me though

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

Wow that was really hard. :P
I think it might have been easier if the camera came with the player or something like that.
But really innovative!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

I completely agree with Jerick :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

Extremely difficult, but also a very original concept!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice, innovative gameplay. Very challenging!

Graphics are exactly what they need to be, and the song is nice and soothing.

Would have liked more freedom of movement - annoying to have to repeatedly press the controls rather than being able to hold them down. The turn radius also didn't seem to be quite consistent (eg. 4 button presses left turns me around 180, 4 button presses right gets me further than 180). This made movement a bit unpredictable.

Overall, highly rated. Well done.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

Excellent interpretation of the theme.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

A little slow for my taste, and it was hard to tell how much control you had over movement. But interesting concept and good theme.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Very relaxing game. BruceDoh, the turns follow and hexagon shape, it's easier when you understand that.

shaneparsons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Very hard only just got past the first level!! But a good game overall.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

A really good idea, and great use of physics and mesh, but the controls could really use some refining. It took me a few goes to realize it was looking for GetKeyDown, not GetKey, each press and release of a key rotates the direction. The speed of the 'monster' and the size of the sandbox makes it very hard to control. A long comment because otherwise I thought this was very clever =]

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice. Thanks for letting me play this. I think the difficulty is just right.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great idea and well presented, but have similar issues with the difficulty :p Quite fiddly to push the balls out.

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Cool idea, I found it really hard though, even with just the one ball.

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

such a good idea!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I'll have to agree with Jerick. The controls made this game hard to fully enjoy.

Enjoyable Graphics.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

It's hard to come up with a truly original game idea. I don't think I've ever done it. Really nice looking as well.

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

This game was really difficult. I think locking the camera to the player would help a lot.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Tricky but good fun, I got the third level on my third try so not too bad. I think a stop button would've made it easier.

But seriously, beautiful looking and sounding game!

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really hard to control! But a nice interpretation of the theme.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Very hard. Good job!

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I liked the idea, but it took me four attempts to get rid of the first ball. I got passed level 2, but was burnt out once I got to level 3 and stopped.
I don't know what the solution is, but it takes too long to figure out what your new direction is after pressing a key. It took me a while to realize holding the buttons down did nothing.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Solid entry, very neat and almost relaxing!

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

Pretty good game, but I don't like how you are constantly moving...

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Pretty hard game, but I enjoyed it.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

Took a while to get used to the control, but once I did the game was really neat.

tehryanx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Super neat idea. I wanna see what I look like :P

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:53pm

A game easy to understand but hard to master. Nice work!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:31am

Nice use of the theme. Interesting gameplay.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Very cool idea, but too difficult. I feel that it is not so realistic that the sand at the borders has a slope towards the border. Otherwise good realistic feeling and nice idea to play just sone chords on your guitar instead of synthie-music.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]