Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Literary Diver

by sugarbyte - Jam Entry

Gather shells to bust through knots of kelp and seek meaning below the surface. Get to the bottom and collect all the literary treasures before your air runs out!

Programming - Johnicholas
Art - sugarbyte

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#290Humor(Jam)2.78
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#458Overall(Jam)3.07
#484Graphics(Jam)3.08
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#563Innovation(Jam)2.60
#678Audio(Jam)1.39

Comments

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Very suspenseful! Never know if you can reach the next treasure. Well done.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Do I get English credits for this?

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

That was AWESOME!! The shells are perfectly spaced and finding the books was somehow freakishly satisfying. That was really fun

4KbShort says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very simple and cute. As I descended I realized it was getting darker and that I was progressing which made me want to keep going until the end. Easy to complete and makes you feel accomplished. Great work.

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

Neat game! Very simple, I like the shell animation, and it was fun. Great idea, guys!

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

I got an A!

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Perfectly simple. Great game!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

I liked this a lot! Finding the different thematic treasures was a treat, and as others have said, the spacing of the shells was just far apart enough that you weren't sure if you were going to make it.
I think I would have been happier if the field of view had been a little wider, but the narrowness does lend a certain feeling to the whole game.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

It was fun. And that guy in a dive suit reading a book is quite entertaining. Heh!
When I got to the bottom, I was wondering if I then needed to wait and die, but I think it was just waiting, or touching the right side... or... I don't know.

I'm still amazed with this man's devotion for a good lecture. My life in exchange for finding a good reading.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Damn straight, I always get an 'A'. Simple, hypnotic, and just a little tense. Not bad.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

Great gameplay for a little but fun game ;)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

I agree with 4KbShort, making the background fade to black on the player's journey was a important to let them know about their progress ~yay!
That aside, i really enjoyed, the idea is quite interesting and the game ended up being really fun :D

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I love the dual interpretation of the theme here. Gameplay is good but nothing entirely special. Graphics are good too. Level design is *superb*. A solid entry!

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Great placement of the obstacles, made it a challenge to decide which route to take. Nice!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Cute game. Mechanics are pretty basic, but it works for what it is. The literary theme was interesting.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

It's amazing how you managed to make me get most of the shells with a pixel or two of air left. It kept me on the edge of my seat!

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

Simple and fun. The obstacle generation/level design was nice. I didn't quite understand what the literary stuff was about.. I was thinking maybe I'd get some more details about what I collected when the game ended, but that didn't happen

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job man!!!Simple and fun! Awesome work!!!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Great game, but shouldn't those books be soaked? I mean, how long have they been at the bottom of the sea? They should be waterlogged by this point!

mark.goetz says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:59am

Nice! I like the dual interpretation of Beneath the Surface. I think some audio might've improved it, and it did also start to lag towards the end, but not to the extent that it stopped me from completing the game - which is good, because I enjoyed the fact that the background got darker the farther down you went.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]