Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath My Skin

by Lucien Jely - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not a really interesting game and it relates to the theme in a very shallow way,
But it was a true technical challenge to me, as a beginner in C# (i started less than a month ago).
I promise i'll do a actual good game next time ;).

Made in C# using Xamarin Studio for OS/X
The music was made (very quickly ^.^') in Logic Pro X

EDIT: I tweaked so your character(literally) shows up in the menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Audio3.53
#699Innovation2.87
#856Fun2.67
#912Overall2.81
#1083Theme2.40
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I'm not too sure what it was about. Perhaps highlighting the main character in some way would help? In any case, I liked the fact that it was in console. I've done a few things in console GUI, I consider it to be a nightmare. You have my respect for that x)

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

This game is pretty cool! I especially like that it's ASCII on the console! I definitely think that making the main character more obvious would help. Or even just put a line in the instructions that says "you look like this:".
The music, though, its pretty amazing, I loved it! The mechanics are basic, but it's solid; this is a good start to a cool game :D!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02am

It's surreal playing a game in a console window that has music! (P.S. I won the game.) It's a bit hard to suss what's going on with the text, but I'm sure you knew that. Nice music!

snade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09am

Pretty sweet for a console game. You even used the name of my account on the computer. that was funny.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

The game crashed once I left the area, although overall it's a nice game. I like how it's done is ASCII so there is more focus on the game than the graphics

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49am

Did you know that my very first game made was a console black jack game similar to this one. I think I was 16 back them but yours has awesome music :) and did you know my name is Jed also? so I kinda freaked out when the in-game text mentioned my name! I read README Good job! :)

Lucien Jely says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47pm

The game is actually using your username, so that's why it mentioned your name ^^

May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Simple but cool game! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Definitely one of the better console games I've played this compo. The game is fun to play through, though kind of sluggish at times, but that's part of its charm. Especially with that wonderful midi music.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice ASCII game running in the console, with excellent music and a neat little backstory. The gameplay itself is quite slow and simple, but the fact that you can adjust the number of lives and machines (enemies) is a nice way to allow for adjustable difficulty. I had some fun breaking the game by setting zero and negative numbers for lives and machines.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]