Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bobs Incident

by shane1090 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bobs flooded the mine! Help him reach the surface before he drowns! Make your way from the bottom of the mine pit, smashing blocks that are in your way with your pick axe but watch out for the water creeping up on you!

Keyboard
--------
Arrow Keys - Move Left/Right
Spacebar - Jump
Z - Use pickaxe

Controller
----------
Left Stick - Move Left/Right
A - Jump
B - Use pickaxe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#357Theme3.48
#408Humor2.65
#608Graphics3.10
#658Overall3.08
#668Fun2.89
#721Audio2.45
#741Innovation2.81
#777Mood2.74

Comments

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I drown a lot.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Thanks for playing vinull! The key is getting a good start - I did tweak the speed of the rising water just before submission as I thought it was too easy! You can 'double' jump your way up from walls if you get the timing right.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Cool game.

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I found myself enjoying this a lot. Would have liked a High Score or something to see how I did compared to my previous attempts.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Tough game. But a real game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

After I realized that you can waalljump I hade great fun with this one! :)

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Really hard! Very cool mechanic but it's so fast, even with double jumping I keep drowning. I would add the ability to dig on the tile above you and also let you stay in the water longer before you die.
I also love the sprite :)

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Wow very hard game. Maybe give a little more time before the water arrives?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Some kind of height score would have made this much more addicting, good work though. :)

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Good mechanic controls are solid, but the water is really fast!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Poor bob

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Very cool game... the water moved too fast for me :(

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice game, would have been better with some procedural generation, but I enjoyed it anyway! Good job. :)

shane1090 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

@Xaychru04 the level is randomly generated each time - you can press 'R' at anytime during play to get a new level.

Monoquartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Oh my god! Bob will hate me because of my several attempts to drown him xD I think the ability to dig a block on top is a missing feature which help me a lot ;) But i think the game would be too easy otherwise. Great game though ! :D

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21am

This game looks cool, but the pickaxe is kind of hard to use because most of the time you want to go up and not sideways.

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:42am

Aiiiii! I'm really good at drowning in this game! Super hard but hard to resist trying again - very addictive. Nice cutesy graphics. A difficulty curve might help a bit but other than that, really great entry. Well done!!!

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:02am

Good game, at first I thought the game was too hard, then I realized that wall-jumping wasn't a bug but a feature. Then the balance seemed right.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

Wow very nice! Great mechanics, cute graphics, and very hard :P

May 1, 2014 @ 9:44am

i like the game, although getting somewhere past the first 5 layers is hard as balls. good job! it ket me playing for a while :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Good arcade game, you should add a score or a meter, to have a sense of progression, also the water arrives too quickly at start. Keep it up ! :)

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice fun game :)

MonsieurS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I second the idea of being able to dig above you. :) It's quite frantic as it is.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Don't know why but I found it really hard, still fun to play and nice graphics.

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Cool game, a bit hard, but pretty fun.

eriksundqvist says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The controls could be tweaked a bit, otherwise nice concept.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I like the pixel art!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Add a timer for survival time so I can try and survive longer and I might just play this all day instead of working!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Jumping with space and mining with 'z' is a very awkward control scheme. It led to dying a lot. The water rose too fast as well to get anywhere meaningful. Nice pixel art though.

DonovanWu says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:41am

So hard!

rujo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:59am

very cool design

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]