Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. Beat

by eldog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Turn on speakers/plug in headphones and find the underground hit tape cassette.


Use keyboard or an xbox controller.



left and right arrow keys / left joystick to move.

spacebar or right trigger button to shoot.

up arrow or A button to jump.

enter or Y button to restart from checkpoint.



Play on Chrome/Firefox (not IE sorry, it does not support web audio).

Lots of synths using the web audio api create a dynamic, near-orchestral, backing track to a 4 minute long adventure.

An HTML5 game using Phaser.


Controls are annoying/slippery in original entry... So I made the tiniest change to fix the slippy factor... That is a separate link, so please judge on the original, but if you want to have a better time play the fixed version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#216Audio3.34
#629Humor2.33
#719Innovation2.84
#976Fun2.50
#985Graphics2.51
#1064Mood2.35
#1079Overall2.59
#1138Theme2.26

Comments

Recon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

Full of bugs but good fame.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

I love the sound of shooing and how it fluctuates, I was running around doing nothing for awhile doing nothing but enjoying my beats.

The game was also solid, with a good difficulty for what it was. The end spot took me many attempts but I was able to slowly carve my way through the level.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

Aww I like this, a music game!
Not often seen in Ludum Dare.

nice pixels.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

The controls are a bit annoying and take away some of the fun (possibly remove the inertia on the player to improve it?) The frustration of the controls caused me to not get very far, but I do love what I played :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

The game feels extremely buggy. Didn't get far.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

Well, the player sliding on platforms annoyed me too, but the music was good!
And after retrying and retrying again, I finally managed to beat the game! Still no idea of why this guy is on the top of the stage.

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Love the rythm of this game. Physics are a bit buggy, I got stuck in a wall a few times. The biggest problem however is the controls. You take far too long to slow down, making it like you are playing on an ice level. On top of that you speed up in an instant and change direction in an instant, making precise movement impossible

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

@martjin, @Aomeas, @orangepascal

Agree I should have fixed the controls to make them less slippery. I suffered from playing it too much and getting used to them! Next time!

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Haven't got patience to beat it proper way, but managed to hack through platform :D

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Nice game although the sound was cracking for me and the text was overlayed on each other.
I liked the fact that the enemy was aiming at me.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I tried it in FF with Keyboard and Chrome using my Logitech F710. The sideways acceleration curve is too steep and I gave up after missing too many platforms too quickly.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

It is really hard to control the character, but I love the way this game sounds and think this is a great game idea.

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13am

Good fun, fairly addicting, but man is it challenging.

BTW thanks for playing Worm Simulator 2014, as per your request we added a Linux build :)

dartsdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice game, the music syncs well and really makes the game, bit repetitive after a while. Good effort overall

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

The controls are not really good, so I did not come far. Still a nice game.

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice art & music. The gameplay for me is difficult, as the enemies shoot too fast though they are in pattern. The control is a bit too sensitive, maybe its because i use keyboard?

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Hi @eldog, you mentioned that you could not access my entry The God Beneath, I just added the Linux build so that you can have a try :)
But I dont have access to Linux machine, so it's untested. But hopefully it will work :)

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Sorry, forgot to post the link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=24851

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:51pm

slippy controls but sounds really interesting :D

gwa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Cool Game :) Controls make it a little to hard for me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]