Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Masquerade

by RNG Studios - Jam Entry

A narrative driven game that asks you to find a traitor at a fancy party. Be warned, not everything is as it seems...

A Game by:
C.J. Kimberlin
Ian Wesley-Smith

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#126Mood(Jam)3.65
#162Audio(Jam)3.53
#163Theme(Jam)3.57
#187Innovation(Jam)3.41
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#228Overall(Jam)3.43
#320Humor(Jam)2.70
#428Fun(Jam)2.91

Comments

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

Interesting take on the theme. Wish I could accuse all of them.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

Pretty great game. I enjoyed reading the dialogue and seeing what each one had too say. I think I accused correctly first time as-well. Nice job! :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

Funny game and really detailed and interesting storyline. I didn't figure out who it was at first :( The music gave it a '20s feel.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Gorgeous art and animation, and interesting dialog:), Great Job:)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40am

sorry i just did not understand what to do. everytime i played it seemed to do the same thing. the graphics and background mood and music was great. thanks.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

very nice ambiance with great characters

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like the unique take on the theme, and the relating games to real world issues. Yay for iran-contra scandal.

hyr4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice game. Enjoyed reading the dialogues and trying to find out the solution. Well done :)

petey123567 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53am

Haha, promotion on the first try!

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01am

Really nice mood and music. I wish there were more story paths to explore (obviously that would have been time consuming, though : ). Overall, really creative!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

I like the concept, though after getting all four endings, I'm still not sure which one I was initially looking for. Good writing though, great music and visuals.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03am

Interesting idea, i couldn't figure out who the criminal was though. I like the topical issues in the dialogue very much though.

okeedokeben says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18am

Love the artwork and music, and some great dialog as well. I enjoyed checking out all of the different endings!

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:02am

Needed a few play-throughs to see what you were saying with this game. Very clever message vector and great use of the theme. My first idea for the theme was something psychological, too... but I didn't contrive a sufficient 'game' to pursue (since I wanted something procedural).

That said, it's kind'a small -- seemed like it could have had a lot more? What's next? (tempted to develop further?)

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Reminds me of Postmortem: One Must Die. It was okay :).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]