Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Buried Beneath the Credits

by Claude-Henry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:
-WASD to walk
-escape to pause, unpause, and exit prompts
-click to examine
Due to Popular Misunderstandings, I have released a Hint.
Hint #1: click on Objects... (use the crosshair)
Enjoy!
[Tue 29 Apr 7:10 PM (EST)]: Found a bug where the songs don't play at the end, fixing that right now! (Sorry for that).
[Tue 29 Apr 11:15 PM (EST)]: Finally got around to fixing that music bug, its all fixed and updated, once again sorry about that...
Link to the music: https://googledrive.com/host/0BwhHWjpM23gLZVVVc0hjbjlBR1U

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#710Humor2.23
#822Graphics2.75
#861Audio2.11
#1117Innovation2.23
#1139Mood2.17
#1197Theme2.03
#1223Overall2.21
#1256Fun1.53

Comments

nhmllr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

I might just be easily impressed but the graphics are great. It reminds me sort of the Stanley Parable with the sparse office setting. It is very mysterious but I'm not sure what exactly I'm supposed to do? The game doesn't really come with an instructions and it appears there's only two rooms unless I'm really missing something.

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

The game looks very interesting. I love the music in the menu screen! Sadly, I do not really seem to get what to do... Maybe you should give a hint on where to start?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I didn't understand prime concept. Strange world ++

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

"I'm tired of not getting credit for the things I do here"... totally. Agreed, love the music on the menu. Awesome blender skills though. I still never found a way to win... there were some funny messages on the computers though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Not sure what I was doing with the computer but I liked the atmosphere set.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I related to this game, and that makes me sad.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice touch with the messages. Gameplay is lacking some kind of depth and the messages that should just have been something extra is the entire gameplay instead.

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I wasn't sure if there was any goal in the game. This isn't really my thing.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

I loaded it up, clicked a computer, a blank screen came up that I couldn't click out of and no more inputs were accepted as far as I could work out. Did I miss something?

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I really would have liked to have the music in the menu inside the game. Maybe even coming from a single computer and nothing more. The red thing, could have been buzzing too. Some more stuff like that to set the mood stronger.

Then I might have enjoyed more running around investigating the computers. However, there too, I would really have like to have some easier way to get away from them. Like clicking left mouse button again. Moving the hand from the WASD to click Esc on each of them made me stop after 5.

I think you definitely have the blender-skills to do an interesting moody and slick-looking game. But the interactions, sound-scaping and game-logic need some love as well.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Not entirely sure what was meant to happen but an interesting concept

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice environment. Wasn't sure what to do though =/

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:37pm

You didn't provide a version for Linux OS, so no test from me.

Claude-Henry says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:15am

@Rick Hoppmann Thats why I have a web version up, i was really hesitating between posting a linux version as well, but i wanted to have the spoilers as a separate link, and was only given 5 spaces... anyways, i genuinely prefer playing web player games for rating, its so much easier...

FYI I am also a linux user if that makes you happy in anyway, shape or form, but I know, and you do too which OS is the most common, and which is the least...

sorry.

strong99 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I won, but how I did that I don't know, I was just taking a stroll next to a table after having read almost all screens. But the confusing world is definitely a plus.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]