Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I n e s c o

by raulincze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inesco is an atmospheric first person exploration game in which you have to squint your eyes in order to see behind the appearance of objects in order to stay alive.

Known issues:
- The main shader is not working on Intel integrated GPUs
- There is a web player bug that makes the game to freeze on click

Unfortunately I have to admit that I was not able to implement all the features that I had planned for this game (especially those regarding sound), but I did ended up with a pretty charming environment. :)

If you want to read more about the game's concept, you can do so here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/26/my-ludum-dare-manifest/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#50Graphics4.29
#92Mood3.79
#181Innovation3.65
#328Overall3.42
#415Audio2.98
#517Fun3.06
#579Humor2.41
#676Theme3.13

Comments

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

It seems that the shaders I've used are not working in integrated Intel GPUs. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Excellent visuals and concept

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

I was really enjoying this! Some maybe spoilers I guess:

How does the game end? I climbed up a pile of rocks some of which were invisible, and then I managed to get over the rock wall and outside the level I think.

I really liked the game. It's impossible pretty and the game mechanic is really cool.

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

I had something planned as an ending, but I did not get the time to implement it, so I had to cut everything short and come up with something else. You are just supposed to jump into the bed of flowers below de cliff ("outside" the level). And you kind of die from doing that...

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

totals rad. enjoyment had. until i got stuck in some rocks (there was somewhere near a rock cliff face, an inset that looked like a staircase. BAM suddenly i'm stuck in the cliff. bummer ).

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The game feels very atmospheric. Totally digging the art style. The squinting mechanic is fun!

caranha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

The graphics are really pretty, but as far as I could tell, the game was just "walk around lost in a Unity Landscape until you fall off the world".

I found the poisonous river, and the only way I could find to get across was climbing a stone wall nearby, but on the other side of the stone wall seemed to be the end of the level (only empty grasslands as far as I could see)

A little bit more orientation to the player would have been nice.

Thanks for the game!

harko12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

for some reason, clicking the mouse on the web version freezes everything. Looks nice though.

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice start to what could be really interesting. Environment looks great.

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

It's an pretty game, but not a whole lot of fun as it is now. The mechanic of squinting to see what is dangerous might be really interesting if it can be developed more.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

A beautifully polished game with a great mechanic. Looking forward to exploring this more.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Very immersive. Beautiful environment and the squinting mechanic is a great idea.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Really like the atmosphere and graphics. This cool game mechanic could potentially be very interesting.
Great idea though :)

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I love your usage of the lens of truth mechanic, but what really stands out to me are the overal mood and graphics.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Great graphics, but what I must do is not really clear. I do like to walk around in this world. It is nice.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

The mechanic is a novel one, but (pun alert) it seems you barely had time to scratch its surface.

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

@cageinabird Ha! Good one! :D
You are right, I barely did unfortunately. and as Thorig said, I kind of omitted to give the game an actual goal.

I think that a survival game with this mechanic could be interesting.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Love the shaders man

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Amazing graphics! You did a good job with the visual style.
I couldn't get past the river though, I've tried for more than five minutes now :/ The concept is interesting but some more direction for the player would make it easier IMHO

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Ok now I feel stupid :D It's easy to miss the rock in the water cause the fact that you can see objects that aren't there by squinting isn't introduced before. Now I've finished it and enjoyed it quite a bit, well done!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:57am

I feel like this was a good start to a really cool environment, but I'm not sure how to get to the "end" I guess. I pretty much escaped the level and couldn't find another way to go. Beautiful graphics though.

samooJAM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:54am

The main shader is too strong. I would make the game less linear to increase the exploration feeling.
Innovative game idea and pleasant setting. Very nice!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Excellent visuals and concept. Cool nature ++

May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Took me a minute to get it but I like the idea when I understood. Good use of the theme and it looks pretty.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Beautiful!!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Love the graphics, not sure if I understood the game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Pretty sweet game. Very impressive graphics, too, considering the time frame. Climbing the rocks was tricky, and the end with the cliff wasn't clearly the end (I only figured out it was by reading these comments). Still an enjoyable experience.

raulincze says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:03pm

@Jupiter: Thanks for playing and uploading a video of my game.

@Fragsteel: Actually, for the game to end you have to jump off that cliff. And yes, the colliders around the rocks could have been placed better. Same thing can be said about the trigger that ends the game (if you just fall of the cliff, and not jump, you will not trigger it).

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:21am

Good Graphics and mood!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Excellent graphics and idea. Waiting for full version ;)

Simon says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Cool take on the theme :) Is there anything to do past the river?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]