Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scyphozoa

by 01F0 - Jam Entry

TemplateProject.exe is the start file.

Tips:
Absorption is key.
Only go against those in your own size. :)

NOTE: For some people, the audio loading does not seem to work. I am sorry for this. :(

Controls:

Move forward: Up arrow
Rotate left: Left arrow
Rotate right: Right arrow


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#409Graphics(Jam)3.29
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#504Audio(Jam)2.70
#577Innovation(Jam)2.58
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#668Fun(Jam)2.29
#673Overall(Jam)2.56
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Zephyr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

The controls were interesting. The audio was good, but I felt a little bit lost and was wondering what exactly the objective was until I absorbed the first jellyfish.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I really wanted to try out this control style, but the game crashes on start. Win 7 64 bit.

01F0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52am

Thanks for the feedback.
Zephyr: I know what you mean, I wish I had put more time into level design! :/ I'll add a little hint in the game description.

Boltz: I see, I will fix that asap. Thanks for the report.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:46pm

It was a a little hard to control my jellyfish, I spent a while circling around the one I wanted to absorb. The audio sadly didn't play for me. I like the art though. Good job!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:14pm

The game was fun, but very short. Also, I wish I could eat that big jellyfish at the bottom; how am I supposed to be at the top of the food chain if there is still a bigger jellyfish than me? :-)

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Short little game. Was not really that much fun in my opinion. A bit too simple. It's nice that you have some kind of "tentacle simulation" going on here though. Reminded me of the game Osmos.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I managed to crash the game once by consuming a jellyfish two sizes smaller.
The graphical style is very impressive and especially the dynamic movement of the tentacles is a very cool effect.
The music is appropriate, as it does not call attention to itself.
The movement is different and interesting, but it could benefit from some visual feedback. Having the tentacles pulse to indicate movement, for instance.
The gameplay is conceptually simple, but there is potential there when expanded with moving hazards for example.

kibertoad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Cool thing with the tails, pretty artwork. Takes a while to figure out who to eat and how to move, but then it's easy. Feels like it could be much cooler if pc wasn't the only moving thing in the ocean.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:30pm

...at first (before I read the hint with the absortion) I tried to swim as deep as possible without hitting another jellyfish what would have been also fun. I like especially the tentacles. Good job!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:28am

Interesting idea. Unfortunately the audio didn't work for me :/

Apart from that, it was well-executed, but not really my type of game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]