Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub-Cirrus

by abayb - Jam Entry

Welcome to Sub-Cirrus! A-Bomb and Ya Bois game for Ludum Dare 28.

-Tutorial-

The goal of the game is to increase population in your cloud city. To increase population, you must increase your food and water. But be careful, don't drink the seawater below.
There are seven types of buildings in Sub-Cirrus.
1. The town center. This is your home base. While it does not generate any resources, it is where all plans for the town are made.

2. Fishing shacks. These are small buildings for fishermen who are in charge of the food collection for your town.

3. Water collectors. These rain traps will accumulate water during the rainy season; though lie dormant in the dry season.

4. Food storage. If you fish too much, eventually you will run out of storage in your town center, and will have to build a food storage building.

5. Water storage. This building fills the same role as your food storage building, but for your water instead of food.

6. House. Once your population reaches the max, people will stop having children, and will eventually die of old age. You must build more houses to allow for more family-growth.

7. Mess hall. This building can convert food into water at a 2/1 ratio. Because of this, it costs fifty wood to build, instead of ten. The building is a hub for eating food, cooking it, and for travelling vendors to sell their wares (water) for food. Once you run too low on food, the vendors will refuse to trade with you, and the conversion will no longer happen.

To build these buildings, you need wood. To get wood, you must cut down the trees on the islands that occasionally bass by underneath. Click the tree to do this.

When your population reaches 0, you lose the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#166Innovation(Jam)3.47
#268Audio(Jam)3.29
#328Humor(Jam)2.68
#391Mood(Jam)3.03
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#482Overall(Jam)3.03
#501Theme(Jam)2.90
#501Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great concept!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Sadly I can't run the game on non-windows computer. First I had to fix your imports (you import pygame as pg but use pygame after) and paths (linux and os/x didn't like backslashes).

But somehow, python is crashing hard anyway : python(508,0x7fff78dab310) malloc: *** error for object 0x7fa8aa1227a0: pointer being freed was not allocated

I will have to try on windows then (must get up from the couch... argh..)

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Could't do much until it started raining and the population increased haha I think its a nice idea, but hard to get started if you don't know what to do. Music was pretty good.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Alternately have all the food in the world and die of thirst, and have all you can drink and die of hunger. Great utopia!

Fun and simple idea for a sim game. Gets a bit ridiculous when all you see of your city is a black bar with little dots at the bottom, but hey, that's fine with me.

Good work!

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Runs fine for me on Windows 7.

I cut down one tree and then built everything in one go. After that I couldn't really do anything.

Nice take on the theme, and the music and sound effects are wonderful. Some in-game instructions would have been good.

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice and relaxing.

Blokatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Wow, this was great. Nice graphics, gameplay, music...
There's nothing else to say, other than "Good job!". :)

strong99 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:41pm

That ended to be a lengthy city. Good thing those citizens get smaller each generation otherwise we would have a shortage of clouds ;) Fun! The themes connection is that you're beneath the surface of the clouds?

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Definitely a nice and pleasant game

tehryanx says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:09pm

was tricky to figure out what was going on but once I had it was really a cool little game :) Good work!

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:31am

Love the art style, nice concept

danbo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:39am

I really like how ridiculous this game can get the more you build. I couldn't figure out how to make the mess hall work though...

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Interesting concept, but it got boring after 30 seconds... I just had to wait for trees because I had all buildings.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:41am

Nice idea and nice style! :)

May 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

cool music, and interesting concept. i didn't really get many extra resources when i played. one island drifted by and then i died.

oh well....

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]