Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Suck My Dig!

by deadarius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're playing as a digging master who should infiltrate into an enemy base, evade all the bad guys and steal the documents.

My first entry. Enjoy!

##WARNING TO LINUX USERS
I don't have a linux environment and didn't test it. I also have no idea how to run it exactly, it is built using monogame linux template. Please let me know in comments if it just works or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#269Theme3.60
#272Innovation3.48
#376Humor2.72
#661Fun2.90
#693Graphics2.95
#812Overall2.92
#997Mood2.45
#1048Audio1.38

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

I really like the mechanic of having to go underground to avoid the guards. It lets you employ a bit of strategy in avoiding them!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

The digging mechanic was pretty cool! Other than that, the game was really short... And it could've used some audio. :)

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

manabreak, yeah didn't get enough time to do audio unfortunately

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

Not bad, though a bit short. Digging to avoid the guards was fun, and the first time I died by digging up into a wall it made me laugh.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

I got the documents! The digging was a cool mechanic. I kept popping up on top of a wall and dying though, it might be nice to have an overlay of the surface level when you're underground so you know where you're coming out. Or maybe that's part of the challenge! It was tricky but with some trial and error I was able to figure out how to get where I was going.

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

Short, but fun enough to get me to beat it. :)

I wasn't a fan of dying upon resurfacing. I think I should've just been forbidden to resurface.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Cool concept and mechanics!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21am

Nice idea for a stealth game! could be expanded upon for some to make something really cool!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

I played this game based on the awesome name and it was pretty fun! I did resort to exploiting (spamming spacebar to create an escape route whereever I walked), but stealthing underground was rewarding nonetheless.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

The name is definitely the best and for that I'm going to give you 5 stars for humor. But the game looks and feel's great how ever I think it can get hard at times when the enemy runs towards you making it almost impossible for you to get away.

deadarius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16am

Clinthoney LOL humor is the least category I expected 5 stars, thanks. About getting away from enemies - you could dig your way from them.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Fun, yet Rage inducing, had a good laugh, nice job!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Short but decent game, worked really nice with a controller. Would love to see this concept in a full-fledged game with maybe a bank-robbing theme or something, calculating tunnel lengths and hiding from the guards :P.

Not a big fan of dying when trying to resurface under a wall. Didn't like the fact that guards could see you inside a building either.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42pm

nice game with good mechanics, but graphics are a bit buggy on my PC and it's annoying that you can't see the gameover/congrats screen properly(because you press move keys)

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32am

Interesting idea. Died quite a few times, but managed to find the briefcase in the end. The win/lose screens seem to disappear a little too quickly after they pop up to read them.

607 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:52am

I've seen the end, didn't manage to get there though. Nice idea, but somehow the resolution didn't work for me, because I could only see SUCK MY D at the start, and I couldn't see my entire energy bar. Something I saw is that your energy bar doesn't reset when you die. That makes it so you have to wait for your energy bar to refill after respawning, so that's a flaw. Also too bad that there isn't any audio involved.

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:54am

Wow, this was the first idea I had I really had to chose hard between my idea and this. So glad someone made it. Wonderful execution.

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:49am

I tried running the Linux version with:

$ mono SuckMyDig.exe


but I got an error:

Unhandled Exception: System.Exception: Texture settings not found
at DigNSeep.Settings.SettingsManager.CheckNeedDefault (Boolean needSave) [0x00000] in filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.Settings.SettingsManager.Load () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.DigNSeep..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.Program.Main () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.Exception: Texture settings not found
at DigNSeep.Settings.SettingsManager.CheckNeedDefault (Boolean needSave) [0x00000] in filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.Settings.SettingsManager.Load () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.DigNSeep..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DigNSeep.Program.Main () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

Stepperz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:26am

Pretty cool idea :) I really enjoyed the challenge.

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:56am

I like the mechanic of being able to build underground tunnels. Would have loved being able to see or hear guards close to directly above me, and a longer dig time to establish a new tunnel so that I'd need to use a bit more strategy.

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:57am

Very nice. Digging mechanic is very clever.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:11am

Interesting. Try add some obstacle in the underground and some pointer or mini map to show where the target is. Nice game. :)

conno1234 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:24am

Great idea for the underground aspect! Very cool!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:10am

Really great mechanics! Should have had a clear goal, some music, sound and story and this would be a great game! Also the lighting when underground isn't centered on the player when close to the edge of the map.

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:31am

Very cool idea with underworld-creeping, anyway game is quite hard ;] I caught one thing - one time when I went away from window center "upstairs" and I went down, I didn't see my character ;) However it isn't a huge bug and game is still good with it ;P Good job! Amazing entry name, but shame that there isn't any sfx xD

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:26pm

This is really awesome for a first entry! The mechanic of digging to avoid danger and get up on top of ledges is pretty cool. I could see more done with this - different enemy types and maybe some interesting stuff underground?

klianc09 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Does not work for me (Windows 7, 64bit). It just says it stopped working.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]