Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Memory Eater

by Zyper - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello! This is my first Ludum Dare entry.
This game is supposed to crash. Every glitch is a feature.
It's my attempt to create cross-platform game (PC and Web) using just C++/OpenGL.
This game was created without any frameworks, just low-level programming.
There's no gameplay, just graphics and moving.
I didn't achieved what I wanted, but it is working (for a short time).

WARNING! Memory eater will eat your browser memory (just a little).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#474Graphics3.28
#519Innovation3.11
#653Humor2.30
#707Theme3.09
#852Mood2.65
#1037Audio1.44
#1111Overall2.54
#1143Fun2.20

Comments

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

The colors got weirder and weirder and after a short while, the game crashed. I don´t know if the colors where intentional... it looked cool though :D

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

@kristof I think its supposed to do that. There's not much.

@Zyper What was your idea on it? It's more an interactive movie like this :) The windows binary went crazy, (too high speed or framerate)

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

It's a decent tech demo...

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

pretty cool. the worm grew and grew, then the colors went crazy then chrome crashed. I would market it as a feature :)

gj in my opinion

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The colors get very trippy after a few minutes. I dont know if it is intentional or not but it looks cool.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Oh wow, that was very clever!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

This game is weird and creepy but nonetheless really enjoyable. I loved the different colors at the end.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It didn't seem to work in my Firefox Browser, or I couldn't find the secret key despite trying every key on the keyboard.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

@kristof Yeah. It was my intention :)
@strong99 I wanted to make normal game with worm collecting points, but Emscripten (C++ to JS compiler) didn't work well with "delete (*iterator)" or "free" so I redesigned it to this strange crasher. :) Sorry for the crazy Windows binary. For me it was just a little faster than web version.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

@SmilingCat Secret keys are arrows (left and right).

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

i assume the crash means i win ahah was really cool GG

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Interesting, specifically the coding side of it. Completelyfrom scratch? Awesome

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

A very clever, well conceived game. Very nice screen effects and fluid controls.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

@FileCorrupted Yea, I was using just GLFW for creating window context and... that's all! Everything is a raw, clean OpenGL (and of course WebGL in Web version).

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Now that's how you handle memory leaks ! I like the originality :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

That's a really sweet idea! Didn't work out what you were getting at until the crash at the end, then I laughed. Quite fun, pretty trippy, not easy on the eyes! :)

Props for making it in C++ though, that sounds difficult..

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Oh my goodness! It's freakin' awesome! :D
There were some problems with finding secret keys(ALT+F4 didn't work as I supposed) but finally this colors went crazy !

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

That was one hell of a trip! Thank you.

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Very cool concept!!

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

really cool idea using c++ and then js.. awesome!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

As other devs said, a nice tech demo with interesting effects, but poor gameplay.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

This is basically my game. I had like over 400 000 memory leaks.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I forgot why I'm here

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The colour thing is trippy and cool, love the way the longer you play the more weirder it gets. Nice work!

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I looked around the room immediately after finishing the game and the walls were breathing from the trippy graphics. Fun stuff!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:14am

Pretty trippy and I think it fits really well with the theme, I felt like the game itself was the monster!

mortus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Well, that was weird. I kinda like your description and absolutely love the game title. And I guess there's really great gameplay somewhere above, but the worm is so deep beneath the surface that the game crushes before he can actually get there. Gonna go 'play' it few more times!

Zyper says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I finally figured out what was the problem with memory leaks. :D
But I won't update this version. I will let worm live! :)
Now I am ready for the next Ludum Dare.

Thank you all for this nice comments. It is my first (and "symbolic") entry. I didn't know somebody would like this "game".

Also sorry for my english.
Thank you.

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:40pm

"Press secret key to come" is it me being dirty, or the creator? :P

Blokatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Powered by acid.
Wow, this certainly is an interesting game.
I feel like I've just been on an acid trip.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Doesn't seem to do anything. Mashed every key on my keyboard to find the "secret" key...

NeithR says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:35am

My eyes hurt!
But worth it! xD

Zyper says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:01am

@GreatBigJerk As I said: secret keys are left and right arrow.
@StudioWolfox I don't know. :D It sounds weird, but I didn't thought about second meaning when I was making it.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04am

Really cool idea. I liked the graphics.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:01am

This was the same experience for my eyes that my tastebuds had that time I ate fruity pebbles after taking LSD.

:P

Interesting game, not convinced it actually crashed though... it's not that hard to dispatch an alert message. I wonder if I stared at the screen for like 2 hours would something happen?

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I looked at the source and tried to find out if the memory eating is a bug or feature, I think its a bug but I'm not sure HAHAHA

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Weird game, but nice style.

Zyper says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

@Bernhard Yes, it is a bug, because I "commented" (//) a delete operator in main loop.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]