Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grave Rave!

by ChickadeeGames - Jam Entry

A game about grave robbers who want to party. Help the digger by tossing him snacks. Click and hold to aim your toss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.51
Coolness91%
#46Overall(Jam)3.86
#47Graphics(Jam)4.40
#64Mood(Jam)3.92
#65Audio(Jam)3.88
#72Fun(Jam)3.63
#101Innovation(Jam)3.67
#102Theme(Jam)3.71

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Very cute silly game. I could easily see this being on a phone. Although that grave digger kept dancing all the way to the right and easy a pain to feed! And the way he danced so carelessly, I knew that inside he was mocking me and my poor throwing skills.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Five stars for graphics and humor. I can't believe I'm the first to comment. Awesome dance animations.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

That was hilarious! Silly but really well done and the cop killed it!

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Awesome. :D

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Silly but fun. Never played a game where I throw food to a digger before so it gets bonus points for that :)

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Haha! What a twist! ;D
Crazy, cool game :)
It has a win condition?

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This put such a dumb smile on my face, especially the ending :)

Really great presentation on this. Great music, without being overpowering, and the animations work really well. Gameplay is nice and smooth too, and I felt so smart once I figured out I could bounce food off the walls.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Funny idea, nice implementation. Not a fan of the music but those dance animations made me laugh hard. Well done.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

awesome execution and idea. love the game over twist

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Nice game! Five start for the humor :)

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Loved it! This is the most fun game I've played so far. Music was great animations were cool, and I liked both endings :)

geounknown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

It's Crazy !!! I like it !

timaste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06am

I love the animations and music, lots of cute humor :D

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30am

excellent!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Love it, the characters are amazing :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

HALIARIOUS! Funniest game I played so far.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Haha, pretty funny game. Love the animations and the music. The policeman getting his rave on was great.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Really, REALLY weird game, but I loved it. :)

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Wow, everything are so cool, especially the animations and the music.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I love it! Best entry I played so far!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Graphics and music are just awesome! I was confused at first cause I though I controlled the guy. ameplay is interesting but can become monotonous.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Yes. Yes. Yesssss.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Awesome funny graphics! Not the most complex game, but well worth a laugh.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really well done!! Graphics and audio were fantastic :) I love the animations! I can see this on a phone :)

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

What a game. I fall from my seat, while I was laughing. I really thank you for that game.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

Mad.

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

Amazing game, sadly enough the sound was not looping but it was really catchy, also if you double click you can drop 2 items good job

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Thanks so much, everyone, for the kind words! We set out to make a short game that was good for a laugh and based on your comments, we succeeded. So again, thanks!

This was our first LD. Both of us can't wait until the next.

ceosol says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:31am

That way fun. Nice entry :)

ehtd says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:07am

Top music and animation, well done!

pixelpun says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Cute game... I like the graphics a lot :)

psychonull says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Loved both endings!

Almost says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:52am

It's funny, but a bit frustrating when the guy starts to move while the snack is in midair.

May 15, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice gfx!!

Jun 17, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Hey everyone! We just wanted to let you know that Grave Rave is available for FREE for Android and iOS devices.

iOS - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/grave-rave!/id888297412?ls=1&mt=8

Andoid - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.chickadeegames.graverave

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]