Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain P

by Ryan up in here - Jam Entry

This was done solo.

Move Captain President with the arrows. Collect metal, wood and XP orbs.
Bring the metal and wood back to the boat so you can go back and grab more.
The resources disappear when you collect them.
The "holding" counter at the top tells you when you're holding a resource.
When you're holding a resource you can't pick up another. You have to finish the level to keep the resources you collected.
Avoid the shark of course. ESPECIALLY if he's swimming backwards.


You have to buy the turret to access level 3. Imagine there's a guy between level 2 and level 3 and you have to mow him down to advance. Eventually that will really happen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#284Humor(Jam)2.79
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#637Innovation(Jam)2.41
#665Fun(Jam)2.30
#668Audio(Jam)1.50
#672Mood(Jam)2.36
#693Graphics(Jam)2.33
#703Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Pretty solid game. The mechanics feel rock solid and you obviously put a lot of work into this game.

The art is nice, and things that are inherent to the Unity engine work fine. (physics, buttons, text, etc.) Since this was a Jam entry, I would have really like some sounds, but that's not a big deal. One thing this game is really lacking, however, is a notifier for when the level is complete. On the first level I just screwed around long after I had found all the pieces because their was no indication if I was done.

Anyway, all in all, it's a fine game, pretty solid and a bit of fun. However, for being a Jam entry, I think some things were missing. Keep it up. 8/10.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

Good effort. Would continue on it and keep polishing. Keep jamming :)

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22am

I'm best buds with the sharks. He doesn't attack me.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

The legends told of a great warrior who would befriend the sharks and bring peace to this land.

@icereci really though, your hp doesn't go down when he runs in to you?

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Congraz on submitting an entry. I think I missed something, since I just went to the bottom of the ocean... :)

Shark was the coolest ever :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

SHARK!!! :D
Fun game but the controls felt a bit off.. (ps the shark was awesome)

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Nice game!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42am

Not sure what the turret does. But I have one! Nice game.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Hi. Liked the look of your game. Some sound would definitely improve. Reverse shark nice!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:56am

This is a nice start. The gameplay was a little slow though, so you might think of ways to make it more engaging for players.

May 2, 2014 @ 5:06am

Pretty good start. Love the backwards moving shark!

TheExGenesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Not sure how you collect the resources... Pushing them towards the boat doesn't do anything and when sometimes they disappear after I touch them, the resources counters remain at 0

May 2, 2014 @ 2:16pm

TheExGenesis The resources disappear when you collect them. The "holding" counter at the top tells you when you're holding a resource. When you're holding a resource you can't pick up another. You have to finish the level to keep the resources you collected. I'll put this in my description too. Sorry about the lack of instructions.

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40am

Awww.... no turret!? :_(
Would be great to see some more work done on this, its a cool concept.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:01am

I love that Captain President is wearing a presidential suit. . . and flip-flops.

May 5, 2014 @ 3:54am

Garris, he was having a presidential boat party when some bad stuff went down.

Jacic says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I was only able to play the Adroid version, so I'll rate that. The controls are simple and work well, but the game is a little short. The upgrades are a nice addition. On Android the buttons were quite small on my phone, and hard to accurately hit. Fun though. :)

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Really enjoyed the idea and execution. Loved the flip-flops :)

rojo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:05am

The buttons and text were incredibly tiny on my Nexus 5, making it difficult to read or tap things. Aside from that, the gameplay itself was simple enough and generally enjoyable. Some sound would have added a lot to the overall experience, and the graphics could use some more iteration. Also, there appeared to be some z fighting between the good captain's head and the background above the water in the Android version. Anyway, always cool to see a mobile game - they're pretty uncommon!

Custard Games says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Haha, I love the business suit and flip flops.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

Right now the game plays nice enough, but it doesn't have any real stakes to it. It's very easy to forget that you're being mauled by a shark when the only indicator of that is an easily overlooked HP: 4 at the top of the screen. Likewise with breath.

The easiest way to fix this would be to have there be some change in the player character image. If there was music you could probably make it speed up or something.

May 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Simple game, but well done! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

cageinabird says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:01pm

You've got a solid foundation to build upon, and the game shows a lot of promise. I think the mechanics fit together nicely here; I especially liked having to swim past the shark to collect resources.

Only being able to carry one resources means the player has to choose between resources. If the resources were less generic, like getting a propeller for the boat, then this could be a really interesting mechanic.

You could also add upgrades which allow the player to dive deeper (e.g. an aqualung) and additional dangers to avoid in order to get rarer resources. This would tighten the core gameplay loop in my opinion.

Also, one tip for jams is to avoid spending time doing menus instead of working on the core game. Overall though, good job! I hope you keep working on it. ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]