Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Apologeticum

by frankd0331 - Jam Entry

Controls:
Move: WASD, Arrows, or ZQSD (I think)
Interact: Space

By: Frank Dudek

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#92Innovation(Jam)3.70
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#228Theme(Jam)3.45
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#515Humor(Jam)2.19
#626Audio(Jam)1.95
#651Graphics(Jam)2.56

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Pretty fun, reminds me of Verge by Kpulv. The health mechanic seems a little punishing especially considering you can't tell ahead of time where you need to go by looking into the underground world. Often you'll need to speculatively waste a health to look, then restart once you know which way to go.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Awesome concept, well implemented! Like it a lot!

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

I thought this was going to be a basic platformer, but the swapping mechanic came out of nowhere and really surprised me. There are some really cool ideas with the color-swapping going on here.

Seems like an odd choice making down the jump button for orange, and your acceleration seems to be backwards once you're upside down. Otherwise, fun idea, nice game.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

Good idea with changing color by lose overall health. Beat this game, but somehow I won without defeating boss.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Cool concept. Reminds me of ibb and obb. Good work. :)

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I like the upside down platform world mechanic, but like others have said, the health is very punishing :(

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Wow, thanks for the comments everyone. Sorry about the health system, I should've put more thought into it and focused its purpose more (among other things).

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

well done, sir!

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Interesting.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Really innovative, and there's a nice "show not tell" aspect in the second level. A nice gradual addition of elements keeps things fresh, but it is a bit buggy (I beat the last level several times without doing anything).

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I really like the way this plays, the momentum felt really great!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Really fun. Love the art. The player looks so cool. I love how you can go underground are stand upside-down, its cool. Good job!

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

I like the mirror-ed worlds concept, but not taking damage just for switching from one to the other. It's a bit glitchy. I got stuck in walls a few times, and had a hard time figuring out where I was appearing on the other side sometimes.

Cash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:24pm

It's a good game but that jump sound effect destroyed my ears

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Pretty fun, reminds me of one of my games.
I really don't get why I would receive damage for changing surfaces or why I can't jump with the same button on both surfaces. But overall it's pretty nice!

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Great concept, but controls are.. hmm.. weird =/

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Clever concept, I didn't like the graphism, but the level design was great and it was fun to play. :)

M4rw4 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:53am

nice idea and simple, i like the idea of using the gravity, good work :)

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice concept !

magicspark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Good game overall, original inversion mechanism! I think the health punishing is good, but you should add a key for restarting the level. I got stuck in the level where you have to shoot red balls into blue walls, since when I was too close to the blue wall, the red ball went through and I had no way to restart the level or to die.

May 8, 2014 @ 7:13am

This is a brilliant concept! Nice work getting the "flinging" feel nice :D

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I liked it, but I think the boss is glitched, you don't seem to have to hurt him to leave the last level and win.

May 14, 2014 @ 5:34am

Very cool idea. It's crazy how hard it is once you go upside down.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very innovative! I love the idea! Very fun puzzles too, this is one of the few games I played for a really long time. Great job!

KeyMaster says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:30pm

The swapping mechanic really pleasently surprised me! If you will develop this further I would take out the health mechanic (at least for the swapping) and make the enemies less difficult (I could only get through the first two levels with enenmies)
Overall really great concept and well executed. There's potential here :)

Managore says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:11am

Falling down into the other world for the first time was a very pleasant surprise! Unlike a lot of other people I think the health loss is a good way to add a layer of complexity to the game, and even if I didn't know what was on the other side the level layout was often enough for me guess where I would have to jump down.

How you played with color was interesting as well. Having a sort of matter/anti-matter system where opposite colors cause damage felt more intuitive than I would have guessed. One thing that bothered me was that when I held a ball and turned around the character would move slightly and this often caused me to fall off ledges. Other than that, great game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]