Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Mind

by PeculiarCarrot - Jam Entry

Beneath the Mind is an action platform game. It takes place inside the mind of someone who has been deceived by their 'friend'. Each level represents the different emotions the person is feeling: Shock, Confusion, Denial, and Anger. It was programmed in Java.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#255Fun(Jam)3.20
#364Theme(Jam)3.17
#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#431Audio(Jam)2.92
#577Innovation(Jam)2.58
#578Overall(Jam)2.85
#585Mood(Jam)2.67
#620Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

I had fun playing it, mostly because of the platforming, the enemies were more annoyances than true opponents. I also felt like whenever they appeared on the same vertical level as my character they took a cheap shot and almost always took a heart away.

It has potential though, I hope you keep on polishing it up!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

(Note: I took out my FILEPATH, it was just some like C:/whatever)

[FILEPATH]:java -jar g.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/game/src
main/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: com.game.src.main.Game. Program will exit.



Have you seen this error before?

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Made it "level 2" before dieing. Screen shake was pretty juicy. Colors on the other hand were pretty bright, and the audio was pretty loud. Still enjoyable.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I'll be sure to keep your criticisms in mind next time. Also, BoneDaddy, I don't think I've seen that error in my life. :T

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:17am

admirable interpretation of the beneath the surface theme

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I think that it needs more polishing, but It has good ideas, keep working in it and improve the art and music, and the problems with animations and gameplay due to the lack of time (I believe).

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The gameplay is fun but the level colors are not very eye-appealing.

mrbungle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

A tad repetitive, but it the gameplay is solid, I liked the enemies, and the intro was well written. The game did stutter a few times, and I thought the score kept resetting, but it actually only shows one digit- maybe that's a bug you can fix- it's in the competition rules.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

Thanks again for the feedback, everybody! I am reading and considering each and every comment. Mr. Bungle, every time you reach ten gems, if you aren't at full health, you lose those ten gems and gain a heart. I did notice the stuttering as well; I'm not sure what causes that.

metjm says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

One of the most fun to play ones I've tried! Got to level 4 before the lack of checkpoints was too much for my patience :-P

One particular thing I kept wishing for: the camera being centered on some spot in front of me instead of lagging behind me. That would have helped a lot with not running into enemies!

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

I liked the take on the theme, and for me the color scheme was nice. The gems -> health conversion was also an interesting twist.

I agree with mrbungle that it needs more variety. I also noticed the stutters, and worse: if I clicked outside the game window it would go into a "Pause" mode that I didn't know how to get out of, besides pressing CTRL and losing all my progress.

mikedirl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I enjoyed your game, your take on the theme was also interesting. I found it very hard to kill an enemy without taking a hit myself, but the game save points were never too far back so it was ok to die.

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:54am

I'll say this much: you certainly did make me feel Shock, Confusion, Denial, and Anger albeit in perhaps a different order.

I must have messed up 'the jump' on level 4 about 4 entire re-runs before I realized it is impossible to make and quit.

Also, TURN THE BGM DOWN. There needs to be an option for BGM/sounds volume at the very least.

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:56am

Oh, and I forgot to add that it isn't fun to rerun the same level devoid of enemies.

I also felt Emptiness, Boredom, and Regret during those last few re-runs.

May 6, 2014 @ 11:11pm

All jumps are possible. About the 'devoid of enemies' thing, I never thought I'd even have time for checkpoints. Those were just a quick oh-man-add-this-in feature. I didn't really have time to respawn all the enemies. Thanks for your criticism though.

May 6, 2014 @ 11:47pm

***PLEASE READ
Loneshark, actually, you were right. One of the last jumps on Level Four is not possible. Sorry for making false claims.

loxo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice fun to play game with good audio. I wish it would be a bit more challenging.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]