Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Digger

by unprompted - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gun Digger is a dual-stick sidescroller adventure exploring the various monsters and challenges one encounters beneath the surface of the Earth. There are four levels in this arcade-like descent. Is that a groundhog?

The only resources I used were javascript, jQuery, glMatrix, gimp, bfxr, and vim.

This is my first time participating in Ludum Dare, but this masterpiece was crafted with my over nine years of industry experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#368Humor2.73
#440Fun3.14
#717Overall3.00
#757Audio2.35
#878Mood2.63
#1123Innovation2.21
#1172Graphics2.07
#1213Theme1.96

Comments

halfmage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

The graphics are not the best in my opinion, but the shooting and pickup mechanics are well done. I had very much fun playing it!

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

Pretty cool from a tech perspective. I like maps just made out of polygons etc

The player sprite is a total badass btw

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

Fun game. SFX are good, really fun to play. Great job!

Akihidas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01am

Loved the random gun stuff, although it did allow me to exit the level bounds haha (Shooting an automatic gun with a big knockback lets you fly through the air)

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

I like how you realized the map (polygons) and it's fun to play for a few minutes. You got many different enemy types which is a good thing, and different pickups. Very nice work for 48 hours!

dartsdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

Not Bad, Collisions need some work tho. Not sure how this fits in with the theme also

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

With a SFX less aggressive, some music, and more difficult (and a zest of bettert graphics :D), this good be excellent. Good job men o/

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I made a lets play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/ZxCW8YARkuc

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Funny game. Very loud SFX, maybe should be decreased

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:59am

is this supposed to remind me of Mario, funny art stle

mikedirl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06am

Its a very cute game, I like your graphics especially the way the sprites move, the sounds are good as well. The whole thing has a nice feel to it.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:06am

Was pretty good. Was getting some framerate issues though.

minibutmany says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Super entertaining! I really like the level transitions.

Moosefly says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:44am

Judging by the guns, your industry experience is from working on the Borderlands titles :P. The first time I discovered the gun-jetpack was... magical. Had some FPS drops in heavily infested areas, but it was still playable. I think I also found a place without gravity or something. https://www.dropbox.com/s/vp5hbo86lm0h9j2/now_this_is_podracing.png

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]