Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bloody Barry

by CDK - Jam Entry

You are Barry The Bloodcell. You have been dispatched to the cut of the body you inhabit. So you have to keep the germs at bay for as long time as possible... Do your best Barry!


Made by:
CDK / Casper - Programmer.
Number4334 / David - Composer and graphic designer


EDIT:
just changed the bug with it being harder on the second try It was nothing more than
"(Time.time - starttime/ 15)"
that should have been a
"((Time.time - starttime)/ 15)"

EDIT2: Changed the link as i did some cleaning up on the ol' website ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#278Humor(Jam)2.80
#455Fun(Jam)2.84
#476Audio(Jam)2.80
#529Overall(Jam)2.94
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#611Graphics(Jam)2.71
#619Mood(Jam)2.56
#715Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Pretty good, the shooting seemed a little inaccurate, but other than that, nice job :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Very fun little game, I really enjoyed it ! Congrats

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice game.
The difficulty seemed to get stuck at a higher pace after a while. Started new game but was almost over as enemies came so fast.
The cooldown for the shooting was irritating. Either remove that cooldown or show a visual display so the player knows when he can shoot again.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

stephan_h sorry - forgot the tell - look at the color of the number's ;) when white - full, red = empty.

think (hoped) i'd fixed the "when you restart it's at the same pace.. i'll try to quickly fix it as it's pretty game-breaking under the "MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO" rule.. :)

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

hehe nice job ! (:
pretty hard game

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Its nice one, it got very hard very fast but its nicely done in such a short time.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Easy to get "in" to the concept, but the difficulty scaling was a bit off. I got hit by a very fast virus at the very beginning of the game :)

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

...forgot to add that the stats and menus was a very nice addition!

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

dj_pale - thanks - did the menu's a whole different way this time - normally i hardcode them, but that's pretty ineffecient. so i tried making them as physical objects which worked so much better.. i really think i've learned alot this time around - never done PHP before either, so the scoreboard was a "i have 6 hours left? i can probably make an online scoreboard instead of just having an ingame highscore list"

But the difficulty is something i probably would have worked on if i had another day ^^

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

Difficulty ramps up quickly but that's OK. Gameplay was addictive and gets really frenetic. Well done, I reallly enjoyed it.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56am

I really liked this game, the difficulty was good. Made me want to keep playing (as you might notice by the highscore).

One bug is that the final character version does not work as intended. He seems to play just like the original guy as far as I can tell.

Really fun game though, good job making a fun game with fairly minimal resources. Too many LDers focus too much on high-concept work and not enough on making the game fun. But you made the game fun, and a good challenge.

CDK says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

That means alot joe. really do - just went on the scoreboard while talking to some friends in school about it, and saw your score - but yeah.. i think i forgot to actually add the functionality of the last class. ^^ sorry about that.. the last class was added last second, and we were focusing mainly on adding the last textures.. but i really have to say that your comment means alot - because the gameplay it self was what i worried the most about! Thank you for the feedback!

TeamInCharge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:53am

Enjoyable! Barry is pretty badass :D

CDK says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:29am

Yeah - he is not really what we planned - he was supposed to be a wiggum like policeofficer ^^ but i guess he changed for the better

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I liked the character design a lot, as well as the blood spatters when you let enemies through. I was wishing for an auto-fire, though.

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Pretty fun. And Barry is a really amusing conception. Can't say I was particularly good at it... but I never am with these types of games.

zeal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Nice little game with a likable character. Good Ludum Dare entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]