Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Manifold Mining

by AnglerteamGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

==========
= NOTICE =
==========

You are invited to join the Fire Control division of Manifold Mining Inc. Fire has broken out on underground automated mining stations on a remote moon. Extinguish the fire level by level to prevent the fire from reaching the surface.

You will use Manifold's legacy software to deploy fire-retardant foam. You will join Manifold's experienced team that is a leader in this field.

==========
==========

After seeing your opportunity at Manifold, you applied for and took the job! However, you can't help but think that things feel a little ... off.



============
= CONTROLS =
============

Up and Down: Switch turrets.
Left and Right: Aim turrets.
Space: deploy foam.

=========
= TOOLS =
=========

Engine: Unity
Asset Store Middleware: Daikon Forge GUI (Interface Sprite Control)
Asset Store Middleware: Prototype (3D Modelling)
3D Modelling: Blender
Art: GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#359Innovation3.36
#901Humor1.94
#958Audio1.80
#990Graphics2.50
#1026Overall2.68
#1029Fun2.43
#1139Mood2.17
#1189Theme2.07
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Cool idea, nice controls. It's a challenge with more than 1 nozzle. Nice fire graphics!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Hi. Difficult to control multiple nozzles, I would have liked one hand to have nozzle choice and other one angle adjust - seemed a bit squashed on the arrow keys. Nice fire and extinguish mechanics

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Good try, maybe have the nozzles spray independently?

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Game was quite difficult, interesting idea of having the player continue to change levels even if these lose.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Physics-based tower defense, yeah, why not! Would require a bit of tweaking of the controls, I get messed up with the arrow keys. Also, apparently there's no way to win, and the level switches when you lose? That's a bit discouraging.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I really loved this game, nice work! It is fun, unique and keeps you awake!

CaiusTSM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice looking fire. It would be nice if the controls where not so close to each other but more spread apart.

thaaks says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Controlling and switching the nozzles is too complicated. The effect of my nozzle on the fire is not very obvious.
I like the idea of this game, it has potential.

Logun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Pretty cool idea, but damn hard ! Maybe the controls could have been more intuitive, but i don't know really how ^^

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The controls are a little weird

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:51pm

felt kinda difficult to work out how/when the foam would actually extinguish the fire

FrameMatt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Gotta agree with Logun. Love the idea!

pjchardt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting concept for a game! Nice work.

May 16, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very clever concept! Nice done :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]