Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Within

by CitrusPossum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

Arrow keys + Space

Story or Objective?

You're a parasite beneath the surface of the human body.
Your mission is to collect blobs and head for the yellow exit.


About the process:

First LD, First game jam and first official game I've made with game maker. It's been a while since I made a game in general as well.

This took me probably around 5 hours to complete in full. Including art, planning and the game code.
Although very simple and not very good. I'm proud I was able to participate and actually
finish a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#965Theme2.69
#1010Fun2.46
#1112Mood2.25
#1131Graphics2.19
#1134Innovation2.19
#1148Overall2.48
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

nice entry. good job on finishing, looking forward to your next submissions

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Impressive for 5 hours. A bit short, but as a fellow connoisseur of games involving bodily functions, high fives all around. A slow drift through a spiky land.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Cool start. Great for 5 hours.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Cool game! Could do with more polish, but that's understandable if you only took 5 hours :O A tad difficult for me, but that's just me :p
Good job!

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

Really nice for 5 hours!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Sloooooow :p. I like die & retry but a little more nervous :p.
But I salute the work done in only 5 hours : Congratz !

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The acceleration is too small and the acceleration tick is too fast in my opinion. The game is simple and fun to play but it seems slow 90% of the time and then the acceleration all of the sudden kills you. A little bit of balancing and I would give say it's perfect. Good job!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Windows game labeled as a web game :(

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I found the jumping a little too sensitive, but it's a nice concept and I enjoyed playing it :)

minibutmany says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very challenging and fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]