Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Theres's a Twist

by Lucio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is simple. But many times is not easy...

You have to dig your way Beneath the Surface and get the the apple.

But There's a Twist.

Try it!


Control: Arrow Keys.

To eat a block: Press the Direction + Space.

R: Restart.


I still have time and lots of levels to make but due to personal problems I will not make them today!

--Cheers from Brazil. And sorry my bad english!--

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#110Innovation3.84
#181Fun3.53
#278Overall3.47
#782Audio2.30
#820Humor2.06
#892Mood2.61
#1042Theme2.50
#1051Graphics2.38

Comments

eckcz says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

i liked it but it's kinda confusing :D good job

alvarop says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Nice concept!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

Indeed, confusing.
Maybe there is also too high a difficulty curve. I got stuck on the second level, frustrated.

The twist is not really satisfying, the movement of the spider/thingy a bit too rigid.

Nice effort though and congrats on making a LD game.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

It's like an impression of deja vu.Got stuck on level 2.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

Thanks for this Lucio. I enjoyed the atmosphere and originality!

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

Thanks for feedback guys!

It's not supposed to be easy :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Wow. This is actually a really great concept! It was more challenging than i thought it was. I love puzzle games! Played till that level with 4 cherries, and then stopped playing because I didn't want to restart again.

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

This the most fun game of this LD I've played so far. 5 stars on fun!

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Woah my head! Love the twist mechanic :D
Those are some really challenging puzzles, I somehow managed to beat them all, I feel accomplished =D

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Very pleasant, and the Twist is very appreciable. A little bug however : if i'm between two square, I take off the both. Nice job :). Simple and efficient :)

VDZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very interesting concept, it makes for some nice puzzles. I managed to get through a bunch of them through sheer trial and error, though.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Really fun strategy game. Not entirely sure how it fits with the theme. Good Job :)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

There's a twist alright! I kind of freaked out when it happened! This is a great concept!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

nice twist! :)

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice concept, but tough!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

Really like the twist! I could for sure see this game going interesting places. Keep at it and thanks for making.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

very cool mechanic!

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Very innovative. Don't believe I've ever played a puzzler with these mechanics before. This could be something worth making into a full project.

cirpig29 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Great renewal of an old idea! The twist is very funny!
Unfortunatly the computer I work with now had no audio - so I could not rate it.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

good concept ... a bit hard but the idea is good.

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I stopped playing after only two moves. If only there'd been like a twist or something!

Nah, it's neat =). I like how the twist forces you to think ahead. Some of the levels felt a bit like they were just there, but the more puzzle-y ones were nice.

I wish the crab moved slightly faster and that i had more control of it in the air though, or at least that there was some momentum leaping off an edge, so you could float across small gaps if there's enough vertical space. Just dropping like a rock like it does feels a bit unnatural.

Oh also, it felt a bit like i was exploiting a bug when i discovered that i could dig while falling (mostly because of the lack of control while falling otherwise, i think) - i guess you're supposed to be able to do that though? Had to do it to get past at least one level, anyway.. but it definitely felt like i was breaking another one when i just went outside the edge of the screen and dug in =P

Also, you can dig two blocks at once if you stand between them just right. It only counts as one for the twist counter when you do that.

Graphics wise, it's inconsistent between flat pixelly (crab, +) and higher res shaded (apple, block), but i guess that's just a case of stub graphics never getting updated. Common LD problem =)

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48pm

@mjau: great feedback! I will make a version with better control and cut off the bugs. But I'm not a "graphical-guy", that's really a problem. LOL!

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

My favorite game 'till there (for gameplay, the more important for me). I liked to anticipate my moves to reach these apples !
Nicely done.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Could be a crazy hard puzzle game with great level design.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Great game! Challenging and fun, I think it had a good difficulty curve. The graphics were stylish and clean, but It would be even better with some music!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Interesting mechanic! Like a few others mentioned, the movement felt very rigid and "sticky," and the difficulty curve was a bit high (though I made it to level 10 or so). Overall, though, good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I found it difficult, but in a good way. It's a nice little logic puzzle. The mechanics are solid and work well

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Good puzzle. Quite hard.

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

very difficult concept but challenging a well fit in the theme
the graphics could have been better

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01am

It has somewhat interesting puzzles, but I found it a lot easier to just avoid the holes and wait until I went in the right direction again. Bit boring. Hated the squeaky noises. Overall, interesting concept but not quite there in terms of creation.

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Love the idea of a literal twist. And the puzzles were great -- I didn't have the confusion/difficulty that other people experienced; I thought they were about right.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:18am

I like the twist mechanic, but it can be a bit hard to grasp where I might end up. The graphics are a little plain. It's an interesting concept for a puzzle game though!

Tardowyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:06am

Good work!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Really cool game! I love the idea of it spinning! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:59am

This was a whole lot tougher than I originally thought. You did a nice job increasing the challenge of each level while not making the game feel unfair. I think some additional game mechanics would add more strategy, and really improve the experience. There are definitely areas for improvement (sound/visuals), but what you have is quite fun.

Lucio says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:24pm

@zatyka: thanks, man! This is one of the concepts for a bigger platform game that I have in mind. I hope to find a "graphic-guy" to make it happen :)

Masadow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:28am

Really nice idea there, but really hard and sometimes confusing. Still great job !

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:44am

Very challenging puzzles!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

I really liked it, very very clever. Would have been nice to have a "you win" screen, but I figured I won when it looped back to the beginning. Lots of challenging levels. :)

Erkberg says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really cool concept, but also very hard. When it said there's a twist after 3 I thought it would be after the third level, got me there. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]