Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Act Natural

by LewisW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first shot at Ludum Dare. It went mostly okay, I think.

Game is all (crap and rushed) javascript and HTML using HTML5 canvas. Not the best way to make a game, but I wanted to do something web-based and didn't have the time to learn a new framework. Instructions on how to play are on the webpage.

I used a brilliant little library called PathFinding.js (https://github.com/qiao/PathFinding.js) for pathfinding and jQuery for some event hooks. Other than that everything was done from scratch this weekend.

I used bfxr for the one sound effect in the game, and autotracker.py for the music.

It may not be immediately obvious how this relates to the theme... I took a bit of a roundabout way:

"Beneath the Surface" could mean "More to it than meets the eye" which made me think of disguises... which is essentially what this game is about. If that's too vague of a connection, oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#157Innovation3.70
#260Humor2.96
#420Mood3.14
#470Overall3.26
#633Audio2.62
#641Fun2.93
#793Theme2.97
#972Graphics2.52

Comments

enosshenk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17am

Clever concept, I like it. It's a bit unforgiving on giving you a chance to do what you're supposed to be doing though.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Cool game. Took me awhile to understand that not all computers have secrets.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Real good job for first Ludum Dare!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I really like it, a game based on blending in, and done very well, brilliant first LD!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Cool mechanics. Felt like a proper stealth game. Nice job!

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I loved your idea. It has a nice mood and sense of paranoia.

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Clever twist on the stealth genre. With time/assets/etc it could be an awesome game. Awesome first LD.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice game. Only problem is I suck at stealth games :D

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

very neat concept. I didn't know what I was doing for awhile, but when I figured it out I liked the concept enough to play it again :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

A good first attempt and really impressive given that you didn't use a pre-existing framework. Well done!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

This is a really awesome idea, could definitely benefit from more development!

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I liked the concept, and the implementation was good. The way the people move individually is nice. Sometimes the "You are standing on your own" notice pops up when I'm standing in the middle of a group. I feel like sometimes a guard lands on you at an unfortunate time and you instantly lose. Maybe some sort of gradation in "detection" effects with a cool-down would be nice, but you already implemented plenty of features for one competition :P.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Good idea, but a bit difficult. Had a good laugh when you asked to imagine the character being arrested when the game was over :).

wschorn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:16pm

wow very clever and fun as gameplay!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Sometimes the detection meter goes up arbitrarily. For example, the leftmost secret computer is hidden away in a little alcove where you should be out of sight, yet the officers are still able to detect if you're the only person working.

It's still a cool application of the theme.

Rabbits... says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I laughed at the 'pretend I animated a scene', it was a difficult game, but fun all the same

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]