Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Danger Beneath

by mihaivdev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi all. Here's my entry for my first Ludum Dare.
Not really want I wanted to make but the idea changed a lot along the way and I ended up making something a lot simpler due to lack of time and nerves :)

It's a simple platformer like (without platforms :) ) and it's supposed to be simple and fun. Even if the difficulty is completely rubbish.

You are a man whose boat got stuck in the ice while travelling through the cold regions and since you couldn't stay on that boat forever (you would've run out of food) you decided to try and go find some help.
Your objective is to avoid the dangers beneath the surface and reach the end.

Controls:
A - move left
D - move right
W - jump

You have 3 lives after which you're presented with the Death Screen. Please check it out ;)

Moving left is very buggy and moving right might stop at random and I'm terribly sorry for that (weird Unity collision detection). I'd like to fix it but it's too late now.

Hope you like it.

Enjoy.

P.S.: Unity seems to have problems on Chrome, try to use Firefox or something else. I can't play most Unity games from LD in Chrome. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#273Audio3.22
#639Humor2.32
#801Mood2.71
#855Theme2.89
#886Fun2.64
#928Overall2.79
#1023Graphics2.44
#1244Innovation1.81

Comments

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I absolutely adore the music. Love the game over screen too. Not enough games have a nice game over screen these days!

Gameplay could do with a little work, though.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Fun to play through. I especially liked the music.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Thank you. The gameplay does indeed need work. The initial idea was to make a Lemmings like game where you'd have to guide your survivors through the arctic but because of some problems and time running out I had to resort to a simpler idea.
I've generated the music using www.abundant-music.com in case you'd like to use similar songs in your games.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

The graphics, while simple, work harmoniously together. That jumping fish is pretty crazy looking, too!

Also, the death screen really is worth checking out.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Great music and game over screen :)

Thingus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Really loved the audio, and the fish just cracked me up.
Congratulations on finishing your first LD!

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Thank you all. There's an equally fun Win screen if you get to the end (10th checkpoint) :D

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Another shout out for the music, was nice to listen to. Thanks for sharing the site as well that could com in handy in the future. The character movement worked well it's just a shame about the stopping issue.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

Thanks. The stopping issue caused me problems for the start and made me try and make the game in HaxeFlixel instead, but then I was having difficulties with creating the map in HaxeFlixel and went back to Unity. I think I know how to fix it now and I might try and continue development thanks to the positive comments and will most likely be upgrading the GameJolt link.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I love the music and graphics. The player seemed to get caught on the ground sometimes, (something to do with the colliders maybe?) and once a checkpoint was on melted ice so when I re spawned it dropped me into the water.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

I really like the music. Good graphics too!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

I survived the deep!

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36am

Congrats Action Remix :D!
And thanks all others for the comments.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Needed more, quite plain but suited the aesthetic

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Once I got used the floatiness I made good progress. Occasionally I just seemed to randomly stop though, which broke up the flow.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:58pm

A big fish kill me! Ouch! Great runner!

Kate Kligman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Great job on the music! I liked the graphics too. The game is fun.

blockbot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:16pm

The character was a little floaty, but I can see you have something good brewing. Keep working on it, nice submission!

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:39am

I died once and revived over the water because I'd broken the ice where the checkpoint was.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]