Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Mirrors' Surface

by MaddeStudios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game/story, in a world of reflection.

P.S. The bloody Mary battle is hard, but possible. The game is intended to be larger, but is short due to time limitations

Changes to original plan: No music, and sounds were made with my face and Audacity

When voting, vote BEFORE playing the PostCompo link, for fairness' sake.

===POST COMPO VERSION===
-New Features
-Keybinding
-Main Menu
-Autosave feature

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#340Mood3.24
#375Innovation3.33
#420Graphics3.37
#614Overall3.13
#723Theme3.07
#749Fun2.80

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Wall jump was just a bit too fiddly for me to do reliably. I liked the core mechanic idea though.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

Is is only slow for me? or is there a problem with the Web version.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

I like the idea, but I could not get past that first reflection level. I kept getting up a couple of those middle tiny blocks and then just falling back down. I was stuck there for a good 10 minutes. Very cool concept though.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice work for 48 hours, I know it's hard to get the pixel precise mechanics required for these types of games.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

Controls weren't so great, especially the wall-jumping: Took me many tries to finally "get it". Loved the idea of mirroring though.

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

@icereci The game runs differently on different systems on the web version. my system can run it fine, but other systems can struggle. Typically, it does run faster in the standalone version. As for Wall-jumping, I know for a fact that it is a bit buggy, but I wanted to finish a working game first. Luckily, it isn't entirely game-breaking, but I may be able to push out a fix. Thanks all for the feedback!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The premise is really good. But I too struggled with the controls to the extent that I just couldn't complete it.

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Great game!
But the web version is way too slow.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

its very smoth and looks really good and has some really good puzzle mechanics but the wall jump is very anoying

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Cool concept, but the wall jump was very difficult to pull off and I couldn't get past the 3rd level D: If you tightened up the controls, this would be much more enjoyable!

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I think based on the response, I need to patch the wall jump. I reckon that can be considered a bug fix, rather than an update, since it just fixes gameplay, not modifies it. Heck, I need some people to make enough progress to get to the boss!

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I've patched the wall kick, so now Level 3 is actually doable. It still requires some timing, just not absolutely perfect timing.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The idea is there, the jump mechanic is a little tricky, especially the mirrored wall jumps.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I like the overall idea and the graphics - simple but pretty. But the levels are just too hard man. I couldn't get past level 2 or 3 in more than 5 minutes so I just gave up :/

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

There were some nice innovative features in this and I liked the monochromatic graphics too.

scottyb says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34am

got to the first level with the little demon smoke cloud guy. really super cool, very fun, but the controls were kinda rough. maybe because the jump button being right with the movement keys? made it kinda hard to pull off wall jumps.

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I may be adding a post-compo version soon with key-config, to allow you to change controls. This is gonna add some new menus and stuff, so I don't think I can update it as the compo version+bugfix

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I'm just gonna echo what others have said. The wall jump was difficult to do reliably and it got really frustrating. The other elements of the game were neat though. Really liked the style.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Nice concept but the poor controls were too frustrating and I had to give up before getting to the end. If the character fell slower, changed direction more quickly and if the wall jumps weren't so finicky, it would have been a lot more enjoyable.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03am

Same situation with me and everyone else. I like the core idea and wow, the controls are generally really sharp and smooth--with enough feedback to really figure out what you're doing, but I feel like the level design didn't quite address how the controls actually work (rather than how one would like them to theoretically work). Having a more difficult wall jump to do along with the first mirrored mechanics makes that third level just a bit too hard.

I dig the monochromatics though, and the controls are frankly great for having been pounded out in 48 hours.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Cool concept. The black and white style is neat. The controls felt good, and while the wall jumping was fun, it got a bit too tricky when I had to do it reversed and precisely at the same time.

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Same complaint with everyone, got a little too hard too fast in the 3rd level. Got past it, and seemed like a dead end on the 4th. Bug?

MaddeStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Level four is a tricky one. The level text at the top is a hint, but basically, you just have to stand still.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

Really nice game but gets hard way to quickly with the hard jumps.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]