Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodbath

by Lacaranian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about the human circulatory system. They said it couldn't be done, and it has! Enjoy. Built using GIMP, Audacity, sfxr, and Construct 2.

Features:
-Heart pounding soundtrack
-Gripping lack of story
-Play as one of three cells, use points to unleash their hidden powers, and use hidden powers to get points
-Learn highly valuable cardiovascular facts
-Deep thematic grist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#376Theme3.46
#408Humor2.65
#778Innovation2.75
#821Audio2.22
#990Mood2.47
#1010Graphics2.47
#1106Overall2.55
#1210Fun1.94

Comments

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

The text at the bottom is unreadable bc my screen isn't big enough. Other than that, good job

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

This is the bloodiest game I've ever played. Well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

If I knew more about biology I'm sure I'd appreciate this game even more. That said, it was still pretty cool.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

+1 to the bloodiest game comment

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

I have no idea what the red cell powers do... maybe playing more would teach me but it's hard to tell what effect I'm having.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great job! Many thanks for letting me use the controller that's been gathering dust on my desk :P

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

Hi. I felt a bit lost, but then I guess that's the life of a blood cell... The powerup mechanism seemed to stop working part way through the second section, but maybe I missed something. Love the sound for your logo!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

+2 bloodiest game ever. Not sure if this is supposed to happen but I was able to spawn a ton of viruses and it brought the game to a screeching halt, and then I appeared outside of the blood vessel. Either way, it was a fun game.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Powerups use "homeostasis bits" (points) as fuel. The game doesn't really tell you that, much. Still, as a general note: some glitchiness is intended.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

Interesting concept but not too challenging or rewarding.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Had a hard time figuring out what I had to do. It's kind of weird, but I like it.

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

So my method of gaming was not forgiving here. I jumped in without reading anything and couldn't figure anything out at first, but with a little perseverance and experimenting I figured their powers out, I liked the white blood cells power the most. Interesting to say the least.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Never been good at Biology.. Didn't really get what I was doing, just flying around the blood stream.. which was bloody :p

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

I like the bacteria. Just reproduce and reproduce :D

Interesting idea that could probably actually be turned into an educational game with some more work. A bit hard to understand the mechanics though. A word of introduction or a tutorial might be needed.

I gave for 4 stars for innovation and theme!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

a blood bath! part of the HTML overlays with the game..

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Such a gory game.
Fun and different.

Don't really get the entire gameplay, but what the hey!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Mess110: Yup- fixed. Site definitely needs some cleanup/an update.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Oh and another fun fact- vessel speed and how long it takes to get back to the heart is based on heart rate (which changes) and human blood volume!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

5 stars in humor for "Heart pounding soundtrack". Congratulations, you have pun.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

bloodiest game is bloody.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

Timelapse now available for the bored, curious, or silly: http://youtu.be/Gfj_Z1TXj8s

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

I really liked the fact that you've created one system in which you can play all three entities, well done! The little comments by the different cells are cool too.

What would have helped would be some way of knowing if and when the level is going to end. Good work!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I like the feedback of the white blood cell/infectious best. Could use a sense of progress in each area (or I didn't get something).

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22am

As others I felt a little lost too :P Didn't get what I was supposed to do. Except flowing along with the other cells. I might be a bit slow.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29am

The cell never knows what their purpose is.. they simply do as they are built to do. As such, "supposed" to do means little in the blood stream. (also I'm clearly making up stuff to cover for a lack of goals)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

I was unable to run the linux version, sorry :(

I have python2-cssselect and python-cssselect installed.

./bloodbath: error while loading shared libraries: libnss3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

This is the first 5 star humor rating I've given. I had no idea what I was doing but that didn't stop me from playing for way too long. Good job dude.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

@josefnpat I didn't get the chance to test the linux versions, so has anyone else been able to run it? It looks like that library (libnss3.so) is one a couple distributions have in the Network Security Services, but not every distribution uses it (and since the game compiled via node-webkit, it still has a web based structure).

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Cool idea, but the gameplay is not that engaging. Also, just for the record, a virus is not a cell ;)

Lacaranian says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:01am

@bentog ;) (thanks for playing!)

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:52am

Bizarre.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Good job

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:52am

I like the background art. It took me a bit to figure out how the powers worked, but once I did it was fun. There should be some incentive to keep the player playing. I like how I can play as three different cells.

May 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7etD3Gtqvg

Lacaranian says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@flannelvindicate: Cool, thanks!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]