Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sewer Rat Escape

by Seraphic Media - Jam Entry

Help Reggie the rat escape the sewer beneath the surface. Don't let him hit the water though because Reggie can't swim! Help him jump onto a flotation device and keep an eye on his hunger meter so he doesn't starve to death. He picks up food by running into it on his flotation device.

Once you help Reggie find the pipe access to the surface, help him run up the pipe dodging mud and eating food along the way.

Thanks for checking out our game! We are a team of three people. You can read our bios on our website at www.seraphicmedia.net or follow us on twitter.com/seraphicmedia or facebook.com/seraphicmedia.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#148Theme(Jam)3.61
#186Humor(Jam)3.10
#225Audio(Jam)3.39
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#523Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

Fun, and very difficult. Sound quality is really good, the music fits the game perfectly. The idea of being a rat escaping to the surface is great. I really like the game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49am

Awesome game. I loved the mechanics and the art. I really liked the fact that you gave practically two different games combined into one. One of the best LD games I've seen so far. Good Luck!

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

This is a fun game, and the sounds made me laugh. The art is fun. I did find it hard to be strategic with my movements beyond staying on the outermost raft and hopping off on the first part. The tunnel running was great.

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

The randomization at the beginning hurts this entry. I lost a few times just because platforms kept colliding before I could get to them. Overall though, a fully playable, complete game.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Couldn't get past the start screen? Neither start nor credits are reacting on my clicking...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Hi Shigor, we just re-tested the game on both mac and pc and works fine, but we did add an alternate web link for you to try. Thanks for playing!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Very cool that you managed to make two games, but the first one was definitely pretty rough. As far as I could tell, chance makes riding on anything but the edges in that game a kinda foolish endeavor.

The ending music is fabulous.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

Loved it! The sound effects are hilarious. Great replayability, great use of the theme, and hard enough to be fun. Great work!

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08am

Loved the sound, reminds me of the worms games. The gameplay was fun, good job.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50am

Haha fun game!

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Haha, nice idea, good gfx and music, well done :) Didn't see the meter counter at first though and stopped before reaching level 2.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Great audio and a fun idea. Was very hard to get far!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Kind of a hard game, but very fun! I really love the graphics. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

KuGrou says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really loved the music and sounds, they fit the game great. The first part is a bit slow since the platform mechanics resulted in me waiting on the side a lot for a good platform. But then the second was much more fun and seemed to have a good difficulty curve as you got closer to the end.

Scam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

Fun. Graphics and sound are good. I liked especially the second level. The first level was too hard, probably due the randomization of platforms. And you can kind of cheat your way through it: I ended up finishing the first level by just traveling on the most leftmost platform. Whenever another platform reached me I just simply hopped back to sewer floor to wait for the next platform.

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:46pm

nice! may be a mobile game interesting

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:41am

Quite hard but good idea !

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:00am

It was fun, great job with the mood. Only suggestion I would make is just tweak your level generator so that certain thing can't happen (like a ride-able thing never showing up, or 2 obstructions appearing on both sides of the pipe) but aside from that fun little game, good job.

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I escaped!!! Cool and funny game. In the end I jumped while grooving to the music. :)

peterlavey says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:22pm

that original idea, and very fun, I like the camera perspective

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]