Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

NecRobot

by Zarkith - Jam Entry

You are NecRobot, the Necromancer Robot, on a quest to become human the only way you know how...
Looting the graves of the deceased to build yourself a Franken-body!

Instructions and a more detailed backstory are on the game's page. (EDIT: There is now a preloader)

Made by members of the Video Games Awesome Turbo Club. We did it for Frash Frash!

CrystalHawk - Art
Euske - Code
Fond3ll - Music
Zarkith - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Theme(Jam)3.88
#51Overall(Jam)3.83
#95Audio(Jam)3.75
#115Graphics(Jam)4.13
#146Fun(Jam)3.42
#168Humor(Jam)3.14
#212Mood(Jam)3.43
#388Innovation(Jam)2.98

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

COOL! :D

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Cool concept. I really enjoyed your art and style. Your style really captures the theme. Good work.

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Very cool. Really liked the art.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This one is pretty cool, good job!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very nice game! The audio tune is very catchy. I wish there would be more levels. The background story is somewhat wacky.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Took a while to start with only a white screen to show me, loading bar would be nice. But otherwise amazing stuff! Lovely little robot! Samples and music were next to perfect!

eonarheim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50am

I like this, very polished. I want to play more!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01am

Nice art!! nice game! its very cool!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

I thought it was really polished. Good job!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38am

Very Reminiscent of terraria, one of my favorite games...
I enjoyed playing it... there is not a lot of innovation, but the gameplay is there, and the graphics are charming, I loved it.

MidCry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41am

Great neat idea and excellent implementation ...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice game! I really enjoyed playing it, nd the music and sounds made it better. I' d love to seeing more of it!

01010111 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I wasn't able to get past the loading screen. :< Looks gorgeous though!

euske says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Sorry, we added a loading screen which was buggy. It should be fixed now.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Fun game, i loved the minecraft feel in this and the music rocks :D

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Nice concept, well executed, even if it is not very innovative. Good work !

voxel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Beautiful sprites

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very fun! Surprisingly polished, given the restraints.

Masadow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very cool ! It would be amazing if levels were generated procedurally ! Keep going

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Art style is so cool and the game has lots of personality, overall is a great game! :)

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Oh man this is such a polished game. Amazing. Graphics fantastic, sound fantastic, just great! Captured the retro feel so very well.

Really hard though :P

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:51pm

REALLY GOOD. I only wish there were a way to destroy enemies. I feel like I'm looting the first stage from Ghosts N Goblins.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:06pm

love the robot voice :D

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very solid entry. Everything is good but the computer voice when you die really made my day! Good job!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:14pm

It is the best game on this jam I played so far. Well done ! The music is well composed and catchy, the graphics are great and it matches to the theme.
Big up !

May 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

Great style; the music was quite catchy!
I liked the idea behind the gameplay, but found it a little difficult for me. Looks like my necrobot will never be human ...

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:27am

Very nice entry. I did had some input lag when jumping.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great game, great artwork!

illugion says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:32am

The graphics are really nice and the mechanics are pretty solid, i just missed some kind of way to get rid of the enemies, they felt kinda hard to face D: but overall the game is great !

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nice game! Fun to play, very polished. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]