Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DEPTH BENEATH

by mimic - Jam Entry

Go deeper.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#24Fun(Jam)3.96
#57Overall(Jam)3.80
#107Graphics(Jam)4.16
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#183Theme(Jam)3.53
#265Audio(Jam)3.30
#268Humor(Jam)2.82
#352Innovation(Jam)3.05

Comments

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

This game is awesome! Fun to play, the controls are fluid and the difficulty is feels perfect. It's very addictive. I only reached level 3 though. Great job!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Simple, but it works

SHAME says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42am

nice, it just reminds me a lot of Super Create Box..

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Love it! Great mechanics, graphics, colour scheme, sound, love the randomly generated objectives.

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Very well made game :D Graphics and sound are awsome !

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Fantastic! I love the art, and it "feels" right.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Clever use of transition between levels, gameplay is smooth but the controls are a bit messy. You cannot jump while moving and using JIKL to shoot is a bit awkward. Also really lacks some music.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Great game. I love it:D. The art is great, the audio is great, game is well polished. I also love the effects(camera shake):D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

This is super-tight. I like how you start by walking the hero off the splash screen.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Dope, nice take on a super crate box style game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Nice art and atmosphere but the gameplay felt blatantly ripped from Super Crate Box, with the addition of awkward shooting controls. Taking inspiration is one thing but this veered a little to close to clone territory for me.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

The "survive" level seemed a bit strange since you have to survive for other goals as well. Other than that (and not making it past 4/5), I enjoyed it. :)

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

@(pretty much everybody) Yep, we were clearly "inspired" by Super Crate Box. But I think that's okay cause Super Crate Box is awesome. Thanks for playing our totally-not-super-crate-box game though! And for those who haven't played Super Crate Box, you should play it cause that game 10x better than this one. Super Crate Box.

@Gamepopper. Yeah, there was a weird unable to jump bug that got introduced last minute. Thanks for bringing it up though. Hopefully we'll get to fix it later. Also music. Wish we had that too :[

@spacechase0 Well, the survive level does have an increased enemy spawn rate but I do agree, it's a little bit weird.

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

I love the feel of this game. Great job guys!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18am

Pretty cool game :D I love it

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

awesome looking game! the keys were a bit wonky to get used to though, but man, the animation and the visual design, top notch!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32am

Great Jam! Loved it alot!

bowatatoy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice! I always 'deaded', though. :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The shooting controls with jkl felt a bit unintuitive for me, and the deceleration can make it difficult to maneuver sometimes.
But otherwise it's very polished and well designed.
Great job!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01am

It's q really good concept !
The moves are smooth
The game is very polished, and it's verry pleasant to play !
Good job !

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

a lot like Super Crate Box, but it's fun. great art style! the graphics stuff is pretty cool

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36am

very cool style!! also a little bit difficult for me but i love this entry!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:44am

very nice game

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:03am

Great game, very well executed. Is the game endless?

May 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great game, really like the look and feel of it. Really good colour palette and style.

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Quite Super Crate Boxy. That said, I knew immediately what to do - very intuitive. I wish the movement wasn't so slippery, though.

Avichal says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very good :) I had fun playing this

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Kind of a hard game but very addictive!

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This is awesome. The art and the color set as well as the enemy design give the game a great feeling.

7heSAMA says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:30am

I played this near the start but forget to rate it. Wanted to before I lost my chance so I'm going off of memory. Really fun, the weapons, objects, and visual enemy design is interesting. Problems include a lack of balance, weird physics, and stupid enemies. Definitely would play a post compo version. Very solid game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]