Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Triumph Of The Diver

by teambrookvale - Jam Entry

Triumph Of The Diver
Our entry for Ludum Dare 48 - Theme: Beneath the surface

Triumph Of The Diver is an isometric stealth-oriented action game. You're in control of a diver who is behind enemy lines and whose mission is to sabotage the enemy fleet. Inspired by a true story Triumph Of The Diver stars an unnamed saboteur who is a member of the resistance fighters. Be someone! Be a saboteur, and experience the tension!

- Navigate the diver between the boats and infiltrate them
- Be invisible and avoid getting spotted
- Includes 3 missions set in military ports

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#55Audio(Jam)3.96
#165Mood(Jam)3.55
#235Innovation(Jam)3.31
#243Theme(Jam)3.42
#245Overall(Jam)3.40
#246Fun(Jam)3.22
#410Graphics(Jam)3.28
#464Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Awsome game, i love the drum beat and how some ships sneak up you nice original idea

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

@UnixXNova Thanks for the feedback, glad you liked it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Great music and graphics! Love how you animated the water, that's hard. Check out how we animated our water and let us know if you have any tips :)

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

@Seraphic Media: Thanks, yeah it's always a pain:) I am looking at your entry right now

Karmalis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12am

I really liked the mood and the feel ingame. I didn't even notice how I got carried away and kept playing for a while. Nicely done!

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

It would be nicer if you had some feedback to the boat after we sabotage it :) during the last level I had to try each boat two times before finding the last one ^^

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

Nice game :D! I like the stealth aspect and the way the movement feels is really nice! I think I would have really liked to have some sort of visual feedback when I sink the boats, both so that I know which boats I've sunk, but also for the satisfaction of sinking the boat. Right now it doesn't really feel like I'm doing anything. And yes the music is quite awesome :D!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Such nice graphics!

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26am

Whoa. I love this game. And I even completed it.
The music, drumroll, the isometric graphics, style.

Very well done. My highlight so far.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

This game was actually very fun to play. Tense, and compelling. The only thing that I kind of missed was some sort of visual indicator to know which ships I have already sabotaged or not, especially on the final levels. Overall, very good work. Looking forward to see more of you guys!

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Thank you very much for the feedback guys!
Actually there are bubbles coming up where the boat was drilled but it's hard to see, so guys are right:) Will update these issues for the full version! Thanks again

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice game! Loved the atmosphere and music.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

very original and absolutely enjoyable! great sound

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

Mood was perfect! Getting tired of these underwater games, but this was is awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I finallly get to rate your game :) I commented on it before submitting mind. Good job again!

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Great suspenseful music, good idea, well executed,

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48am

Now that was intense! Great game!

Artylo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52am

Really cool feel to it. I really felt like a man on a mission.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37am

It feels tense, even though the game itself is not that hard. I think because the dramatic music suits the stealthy gameplay perfectly. :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Great atmosphere !

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:54am

The music really pulls together the artwork and mechanic. Excellent work!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Great game, I liked the audio and the controls felt good.

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24am

Very clever and well executed. I like the border at the edge of the "map". Very clean way to deal with that!

allurious says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Really neat game! The audio really suited the theme and it was pretty fun paddlin' around to drill holes in the ships. Well done.

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Finished it and wow what a fun game this was! Would love to play a longer sequel. The music did add the needed feel of tension. I thought the guards certainly could have done a better job at guarding the ships nevertheless it was so much fun playing this!

teambrookvale says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Thanks guys for the feedback. We are going to develop a full game with fined game mechanincs and more content. Apart from the visual feedback on drilled vessels is there anything you'd like to see in a full version?

magicdweedoo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:54am

i really like this, one of my favourites

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:19am

Reminded me Commandos. Nice idea about diver. Liked it)

teambrookvale says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:54am

@Menesetsu Thanks so much! Commandos is an awesome game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]