Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Enceladus

by andreaswitzen - Jam Entry

First jam ever completed together with SlackBob!

The game is set in the great lake recently discovered beneath the surface of ice on the moon Enceladus of Saturn. The player controls a mini submarine designed to explore the lake and survey for minerals.

The scope of the game was initially quite large (surprise!) but as time progressed it got smaller and smaller, until there was no more time. Hence also the lack of sound.

We also wanted to focus more on the science (fiction) aspect of the game and include scientific discoveries, a progression system etc.

Made in Unity3D.

The font used is called Minecraftia by Andrew Tyler.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#664Audio(Jam)1.53
#666Theme(Jam)2.40
#700Innovation(Jam)2.20
#700Fun(Jam)2.17
#712Mood(Jam)2.09
#731Graphics(Jam)2.13
#731Overall(Jam)2.30

Comments

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Made in 72 hours together with author SlackBob. More info in this blogpost (I assumed that blog post == submission).

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/28/enceladus/

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

The base seems solid. I wish you had implemented the aspect of scientific discovery, which sounds interesting.
Is there a win condition? I either run out of fuel or die to those alien things. Congratulations on finishing your first jam game :)

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

@timtipgames Thank you! We might expand the game and include more of the original ideas and some sound and better graphics. You cannot win the game. The idea is that you go on until the sub runs out of energy. Like the rovers on Mars and alike.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I like games based around discovery :) Too bad you weren't able to implement more of the features you had initially in mind, because i was really stoked about the few lines of concept you wrote! I really hope you enjoyed your first LD!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice job! I only wish I had some way to take out the enemies!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Works pretty well. Really needs something a but more exciting to discover.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I felt that the lack of audio sort of took away from the general gameplay. other than that it was nice

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

pretty nice entry! not much going on but its a fun short game nonetheless :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

The idea itself is good but the actual game play is a bit tough, it's not only kinda choppy (which I assume is on purpose?) but it also is somewhat confusing. It has potential however to have some tweaks and be a much more fluent game.

andreaswitzen says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:39am

Thanks for all of the input!

wschorn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:19pm

It's logical but not very.. exciting

whendricso says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:00am

I enjoy these quick rogue-likes :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]