Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kraken Unchained

by ExcaliburJS - Jam Entry

The ExcaliburJS dev team presents our first Ludum Dare jam entry.

You are the kraken. Make your way to the ocean, and destroy as many ships as you can along the way.

Team Members:
Erik Onarheim
Kamran Ayub
Josh Edeen

This game works best in Chrome, Firefox, and IE10/11.

Controls: move mouse to control the kraken, press spacebar when near ships to attack them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#227Humor(Jam)2.97
#328Mood(Jam)3.13
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#451Innovation(Jam)2.82
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#461Graphics(Jam)3.16
#488Overall(Jam)3.02
#547Audio(Jam)2.55

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

This was a pretty cool game. You guys did a good job! Liked that you used kraken.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Really playable and fun! I liked the ability to "sneak" as well as outright smashing, and the UI and controls were super intuitive. Wish it had highlighted a little more beneath the surface, but great game!

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Attacking felt kind of wonky in my opinion, but other than that fairly solid game.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

I enjoyed sneaking through w/o trying to hurt any ships as that part wasn't as much fun as the stealth elements. I'm glad you let me play as a giant squid. I've never been a Kraken before.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

This was a decent entry. I wish that the score breakdown in the end was better. I'd like to know how the points/grade are calculated (i.e. is getting through with 1 health while attacking everything better than speedrunning through without attacking?). It was very playable though, which is a nice change of pace from some of the others I've been playing which were almost counter-intuitive.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

I love it, love the kraken animation too, i love how the eyes take distance from each other. :D!

jotson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24am

Liked sneaking between the boats. While eating the boats it was difficult to avoid being hit. Might be nice to have other food for health.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39am

Fun and pretty dang polished for an LD. Good controls. Once I got the hang of it I could comfortably take out ships without being damaged (but there was still a challenge)

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

Didn't find any health, but made it to the end. Nice concept.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

cool game but the page scrolls down every time i press space.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

It says there's music. Is it Chrome only?

ren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

we need more games where you play as krakens. Figured out a bit late that you can avoid the bullets while eating ships. Loved the lightmap and the sneaky feel of the game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58am

Cool game, nice job! I hate octopus hahaae but i like your game =p

eonarheim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

@ActionRemix Sorry to hear, what browser are you using? The music track is pretty low too, can you hear if you turn up your volume?

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13am

Haha! I went the kraken route, too.

Nice work! I like the stealth mechanics with the boats, but I wish they came up more after starting combat. For the most part I was just dodging dots the whole time. The kraken animation's pretty great.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I totally felt like a kraken here. Good game!

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

I wish attacking was a bit more reactive. I'm not sure if I was doing damage or not. Besides the attacking, this was pretty neat!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

fun and exciting, liked the stealth element

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:41am

Really like the visuals and music. Control and gameplay was really straight forward. Nice work

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice, For some reason i though i was supposed to charge the ships and kill them and wondered why i was dying so fast haha. made it to the end though!

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:54am

Fun game. Good job !

kamranayub says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Thanks for the kind words folks. As an aside, we have a newer (WIP) version at http://krakenunchaind.azurewebsites.net/post-dare.html that contains some fixes, speed changes, touch support, and optimizations for IE10/11. We'll add a link to the homepage but figured I'd post it here first.

alhvi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Pretty good stealth game. It kept me entertained all the time. The first time I played I wasn't sure if I was hitting the first ship, I didn't noticed the damage in the sprite, maybe you can add a little health bar on top of them to make it more clear. Also I don't know why I think it needs a counter of how many ships I've killed in the HUD. It was a very polished entry. I liked all the animations and sounds. I tried the new version in my tablet too and it runs well. The link is missing and e XD. http://krakenunchained.azurewebsites.net/post-dare.html
Good job guys :D

Chronoberry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Great sound effects. Somehow, the squid gets flipped around when attacking and it was a bit confusing at first. Amazing title screen!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Interesting take on the gameplay/idea, I've enjoyed this :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]