Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Crevice

by ZQMony - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first time participating in Ludum Dare and it was fun. After doing this I've learned many new things and can't wait to do another one. The Game I made is called "The Crevice". In the game you must discover what is going on beneath the surface in mines. During this, you will also find out something beneath the player's surface.
Although I would have liked to have added more levels, this will have to do. I hope you enjoy!
NOTE: If the applet gives you an error, try lowering your java security level to medium.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#243Audio3.28
#305Humor2.86
#376Theme3.46
#525Graphics3.21
#588Mood2.95
#594Overall3.15
#709Fun2.85
#925Innovation2.57

Comments

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice graphics and audio! Starting from the beginning is a very strict death penalty though.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Pretty awesome game! I loved the audio and graphics! I died too much though :/

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Too hard to dodge the fuzzy balls

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Cute game and a good start. The green enemies approach and kill too quickly.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

My browser blocked the web version...

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

Hard, but very fun!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

This game is hard as heck! Hitboxes were kind of ridiculous on the red fuzzies. Pretty funny though (:

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

Really hard -- the guy could be just a little faster :) Nice job overall.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46am

Nice art!, dug the music too.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice! Love the brutal difficulty, those green baddies can suck it.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

I love the graphics, but I agree that it was a bit rough gameplay-wise with no way to defend yourself and no way to heal.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Web version is blocked for security reason... hmmm :P
Anyway, the game is simple and nice, but the level design is quite... disturbing.
I mean, this is a hardcore type of game where you lose everything when you die. If the level is almost impossible to beat w/o taking a damage, then it could lead to some inevitable frustration. Just FYI.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08am

Nice job on your first LD!

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12am

Really nice soundtrack and graphics. Crazy difficult though. Couldn't make it past Level 3

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice graphics. The green blobs are a bit difficult to avoid though

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

cool graphics very hard though

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29am

The game plays well but the music is very repetitive, almost somewhat difficult to listen to after a while.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36am

There was no reason for that game to be that hard. Having to start over, cutscenes and all, after three hits, especially when trial-and-error gameplay is involved, is far too punishing.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Fun but very hard, maybe add checkpoints between levels? Otherwise good job!

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:09am

This game is tough! But the execution is solid, and the graphics are adorable.

Keep up the hard work!

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:11am

Quite fun, really hard but good!

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:16am

Loool!! This was really hard, so I modified the source so I could keep playing, I'm glad I did, the end was hilarious, kind of wanted to use that SPOILTER ALERT fireball on the boss

Well done dude, really cool!

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Quite difficult gameplay but fun to play. The graphics looks great.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:38am

It was a cool concept and the level design was pretty good, but the penalty for being hit was too harsh and the homing enemies were too good. I died every time on the third level.

Hope you keep working on it though, it could be a whole lot more fun! :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:11am

I couldn't get very far in this game, as much as I wanted to see the ending. It's one thing if you wanted to make a difficult, combat-free maze game, but having it restart on a game over is just too much! It's especially unforgiving since the levels are largely dependent on trial & error, since there are plenty of dead-end paths and randomly-moving (or just plain fast) enemies that require you to know the level layout beforehand to avoid. And only giving the player 3 measly hit points (that even don't get replenished between levels) is plain mean. So in the end, I don't have much motivation to try again after losing.

Despite that, this game is still quite charming. The driving force behind making me want to play this game was the lighthearted dialog/story. The graphics are cute through their simplicity and complement the mood you were going for. I'll probably give this game another go later on just so I can experience the rest of the story!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]