Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost, beneath the surface.

by Nambiar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a firefly and you're lost in the dark beneath the surface.
Use arrow keys to move around and solve procedurally generated worlds with horrors of the dark lurking around the corner.

Check out this link for the post mortem - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/29/lost-beneath-the-surface-a-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Audio3.46
#272Mood3.35
#717Overall3.00
#734Humor2.19
#756Graphics2.85
#797Innovation2.73
#1102Fun2.31
#1147Theme2.23
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice atmosphere!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice intro screen but too heavy controls. Rotation speed should be faster.
I Like the concept of procedurally generated labyrinth.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Good atmosphere, I like the labyrinth subtheme!

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very moody! Love what you did with the graphics and sound. Took me a while to figure out where to find the ending, I died so much!

Also I found a bug here I am able to 'dissapear' through the right edge of the screen if there is no wall there. Into the void I went! :D

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

@wdebowicz - My beta tester (sis) complained of the same but i let it be given you're disoriented :P

@Jod - The off-into-the-void bug is because of the maze generation messing up when the tile number is odd. I'll probably update the version to get rid of that.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I liked the atmosphere and the way the fly moves (really make me think of a fly). Very oppressing, and fun game. Good job !

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice graphics!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very moody music, sets a tense horror theme really well...

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I liked the atmospheric graphics and audio. Couldn't find my way out, but enjoyed trying.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45am

The music is awesome! It did creep my out in a good way!
I completly lost my sense of direction. A mini map would be great or maybe a indication where the goal is and how far away you are from the goal.

I got to map 2 but then a horror got my right at the beginning.

A great game!

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

Strange choice for controls, but you score big points for mood and audio!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31pm

The graphics--the look of the background and the art assets in general--were great (those sparkling blocks! the parchment-colored white background against the stark black!). The pulsing light circle and slippery controls were not so great, because I ended up getting nauseated and had to quit very quickly.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Sorry to tell you, but the music is the best part of the game, and you didn't even do that yourself.... OMFG! No just kidding, the rest isn't half bad (exept for the turning speed of the firefly, which is terrible...) but people will give you great ratings on the music (because it is really very good), and you didn't do it yourself. That is one of the mortal sins of the compo!!!

Larzan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nce idea, liked the random mazes, am a big fan of generated content, read your post mortem :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]