Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Germophobic

by Phyllostachys - Jam Entry

Germs are attacking the organs, stop them by clicking on them.

NOTE: We started out with an HTML5/JavaScript version with Pixi.js but it ran into problems. We then did it in python and that is the version that we are submitting. There are plenty of bugs and lack of functionality/features but this is our first game and my first time coding a game this size.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#638Audio(Jam)1.81
#696Mood(Jam)2.20
#709Fun(Jam)2.13
#734Overall(Jam)2.28
#752Graphics(Jam)1.86
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I think for a first game, this is great. Those little buggers are a pain to click on, but I could easily see you expanding this with different enemy types or maybe turn it into a tower defense game. Keep at it!

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I don't have python. Such a shame... Please include everything needed to run the game in the bundle, next time.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

no python here too. Is it possible to get an exe version ?

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

good for your first game, can't wait to see how much you improve on your next.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Hi ! Congratz for your first game !
You should take a look to py2exe or pyinstaller (not sure about this name) to package your game and build a .exe, rules authorize this =D
I don't have python here, but I'm going to boot on my linux and test your game =)

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:11am

Same as the others. Don't have python installed, but would love to play if you push out some binaries :)

Phyllostachys says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

An .exe is now included. I shouldn't have assumed that people had python installed. :/ Sorry.

Phyllostachys says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Also, thanks for all the encouragement! I felt pretty down about the lack of finished-ness when we stopped working on it.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:51am

Freaky graphics that actually works well in some way!

robodylan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:55pm

A great game, But as I learned last year you have to use a programming language that is multiplatform or doesn't need anything rarely installed to run. Java, HTML5, Flash, C, C#, C++. Scripting Languages are slow and are rarely preinsalled.

hnjslater says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:31pm

fun little game, you'll get more ratings if you wrap it up with cx_freeze for the windows people.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:08pm

First game? Woah! Great concept!

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice one as for the first game, hope you'll learn a lot in the future and that you won't quit the gamedev :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]