Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fortune Miner

by Enzo42 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first attempt at Ludum Dare, The goal of this game is to mine valuable gems and sell them to get money to buy landmines. Lay down landmines on the path of the boss to kill him, but don't let him hit you.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys: Move/mine
Space: Use shops/Drop landmine

NOTES:
- The digging sound can be loud

IMPORTANT: Since the game is containing blocks, you will need to stand directly in line with one tile, else it wont mine!
For the best visibility of the blocks, use the mars textures

Unfortunately I am very bad with making art, so the graphics are bad

ALL THE DOWNLOAD LINKS FOR ALL OPERATING SYSTEMS ARE THE SAME, BUT ARE FROM DIFFERENT WEBSITES FOR IF ONE DOESN'T WORK FOR YOU.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#575Theme3.24
#901Humor1.94
#974Audio1.77
#1107Mood2.27
#1117Overall2.53
#1174Fun2.12
#1224Graphics1.82
#1229Innovation1.88

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Quite fun!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Good job! liked it.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Congrats on your first entry :) I had hard time figuring out what to do...

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

A big sluggish, but nice overall.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Reminds me of motherload, good job on the code but I wish the gameplay felt a bit smoother. Bonus points for theme

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Great work for a first entry and I liked the idea but it was a little too slow for me. Too much time spent digging without any real action. Also would have liked a purchasable torch as the lower sections are very dark.

Good job! Definitely has potential. Also congrats on your first Ludum Dare!

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Fun game! I kind of wanted to see your source code though, I was curious how you made the game so small (most people with java use libraries of some sort), but your source link just goes through to the binary version

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Source does contain the java files, I tried to optimize the game as best as possible, but since I'm a starter with making actual games in Java it could be improved a ton.

Thanks for the comments!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

It's actually a cool concept for a small game - just mine for resources! My only thing is that it's just a bit too slow (but I am also impatient, so it may just be me). Congrats!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Pretty good, heavy motherlode flashblacks. Maybe the light should have been a little brighter since I had to squint to see. Nice one

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I wasn't completely sure what to do, but I liked the aesthetic!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nice that it had an ending. Movement and finding gems was way to slow and in the end the boss only seemed to be a way to force you to grind money. Needs some upgrades and if you add a boss it needs to do something more than just walk.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I was going to add some upgrades, but unfortunately ran out of time

r0x0r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

i'm getting this errors, on linux: http://ix.io/bZS

$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_55"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.4.7) (ArchLinux build 7.u55_2.4.7-1-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.51-b03, mixed mode)

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Good first entry. I think the low frame rate might have been a little much for me though. Keep it up!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Definitely reminiscent of Motherload. I found the digging sound to be very annoying after a while, maybe lower the volume or make it softer.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Thanks for the comments, I've been trying new ways to render the images and it seems to run completely smooth, so framerate shouldn't be a problem in my next Ludum Dare entries.

May 7, 2014 @ 2:22am

I suggest making movement and digging much faster. I never saw "the boss"; perhaps that is a bug?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]