Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben is the Surf Ace

by lessmilk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I twisted the theme into "Ben is the surf ace". So in my game you play Ben, who is a very good surfer.

The game is really basic. It took me less than 5 hours to make it. It's made in HTML5 with the Phaser framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Humor3.41
#243Audio3.28
#340Graphics3.50
#376Theme3.46
#390Fun3.21
#406Mood3.16
#544Overall3.19
#1037Innovation2.39
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:17am

The game is quickly boring (The difficulty doesn't seem to increase) but the pun made me laugh! Thanks for making this game!

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

As expected a really nice game, although it's too easy.

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

OMG I'm dying of cuteness.

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

I liked this, very nice indeed :) If you wanted to make it a bit more challenging you could of limited the duck time so that you can't get by a streak of 3 flying things just by holding down the button.

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Nice way of using the theme. I liked the consistency in the art (apart from the score fonts) and could have done with some more difficulty. Nice little package for 5 hours work!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Pretty solid game, lovely animations and a nice background music. As the others have said, a little bit to easy.
It would be nice if every now and then a boat or a island would pass by.
If you want to continue work on it you could create unlockable accessoires and clothes. :)

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Great animation with the wavy surfer dude arms.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Love that game, and the music is really nice ;), you are a good player! You should increase the difficulty of the game by time and make it more challenging though.

You did a great work with the water particles and the surfer sprite. One advice when using phaser, leave 1 pixel or margin in the sprites, because sometimes the bird has a white line on the left side.

Good luck with the ratings!

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

omg I love those gfx aah uke aah so cool! GJ!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Super simple but it made me smile. I love how the music stops abruptly when you hit an obstacle.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

It is very easy, but the combination of the music and art made me super relaxed and content. I had peaceful fun. I guess that's the point of surfing!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Are you THE lessmilk? You sir are awesome and your tutorials helped me a lot during this ludum dare. Thank you very much and keep up the good work!

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

In 5 hours, it's a pretty amazing stuff! Not so much, but also doesn't make me disappointed.

Not a big deal, but definitely 5 for the humor-factor.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

A theme winner! :) Very cool graphics and music!
Btw: if you have down button pressed while you jump into a flying fish it won't kill you. ;)

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Man this is so cool! Could play for hours!

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

That's quite the pun you've got there. liked the graphics and the soothing ukulele song. I never imagined flying fish would be such a big surfing hazard.. what you could improve is the difficulty and maybe some more obstacles/events so that it doesn't get so repetitive.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Oh, took a while before I realized you're the 12 games in 12 weeks guy I've seen a couple of times on Hacker News. Your work is very inspiring. :)

Anyway, I like it. The graphics and audio are very fitting but it would be funnier if the difficulty continued to increase. I got to 341 before giving up.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

It doesn't change much. But I was really happy with the concept and the graphics. Still wondering why the fishes fly.. :P

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

It was fun to play and did get more difficult later in the game. I also liked the details like the seagull and the splashing.
Music fits the game well.

I saw your post of this game a few hours before finishing my own game. 'Damn' I thought, 'he has the same idea'.
And you have surf music as well.

I used more than 5 hours, but I had a lot more pixels (vectors actually). I think your choice is better if you're time constrained, like in a LD. my graphics took forever!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

The delightful animation and music really sold this.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I don't agree. There is a slight progression in difficulty in the game. The distance between sharks and Piranhas (?) is getting smaller and smaller.

Super cute animations (I especially like the seagull) and the sounds are so authentically retro. Almost feels like playing an Atari 2600 again :-)

Great job!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Funny take on the theme. Sad that you hadn't more time to elaborate on this :(

Ludusamo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Scattered a bit in my ratings. I love the idea, but it gets boring pretty quickly. But I love what you did with the theme and it definitely made me laugh.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47pm

89! Killed off by chain sharks :) Enjoyed.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Haha, I love the jumping animation :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Fun, simple game! Nice uke song!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I very much like the look and the simplicity of the idea. Nice.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Much better then the first 'Ben' game I played. Nice guitar sound track!

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Little fun game you have there! I loved the arms swinging haha

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

Definitely a good little game! Although could ahve used some harder difficulty, i had a fun little play through! Loved the music!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

107! It would be nice if there were more obstacles, but still pretty solid all around.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I love the artwork!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Like the swinging arms. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Very simple game as you said but nicely executed, I love the graphics!

dejant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

A bit too easy, but fun!

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Hehe, A game with the same word play as us, good job :D

I like the animation on Ben, feels good somehow, but the game is a tiny bit too simple. Too quick to master. Good job though :)

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20am

Relaxing, until I die. Sorta like my game, I suppose. Also, 5 hours?! Nice work!!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

Nice game. I wish it was more challenging but for a 5 hours game is pretty damn good.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

This is good for 5 hours. Keep polishing your skill. :)

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Great job for 5 hours! Cutesy art and a superb game name. I'm intrigued what the game would have been like if you'd used the full 48 hours. The mind boggles. :)

mrhill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19pm

I'm sorry but it wasn't really enjoyable at all. Good pun though.

ArthurMaker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:50am

I raged on this game because i suck att this kind of games but the game was really good, Well done..

May 1, 2014 @ 9:13am

the game is fairly easy but i gotta give you props for the pun

May 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice little game! Too easy for sure but 5hours only??? Great work!!

ActionRemix says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:08am

Animations are too cute!

May 5, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice visuals and music, wish it was a bit harder though.

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Wait what? Why are those fish flying?

Adrian says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:58am

Love the game's name. Well done for that.
Like this game as all other games you made.

Simple but very addictive.

Just a little glitch on the shark animation, little line of blue at the top.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:58am

Great idea with fiddling with the main theme. The game is simple but enjoyable and playable.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:50am

small, cute, fun

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]