Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Combo Ore

by Suyo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have two minutes: dig for minerals, and get your chain as long as possible.

Left, Down, Right: Dig/Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Audio3.25
#358Fun3.27
#376Theme3.46
#495Overall3.24
#834Innovation2.69
#995Humor1.76
#1128Mood2.20
#1161Graphics2.12
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I'll be honest, the graphics aren't much to look at. But the actual gameplay was surprisingly fun and satisfying. The sound effects for the "combos" were great. It was actually a lot of fun.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Fun but not so good for RSI: I had to press on the same key all the way downn... This might have been better with a different approach to handling key events. Nice sound, too.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I agree to the two comments above, fun game!

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice, quite addictive :)

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really fun game. One of my favourites so far!

tanjent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

With some better graphics and some fine tuning (juicy powerups + combinations) this could be a good "I've got 2 minutes to burn"-game! I think you managed to create a very satisfying sound atmosphere too, a hectic sound loop + rewarding "collecting" sounds. I felt it was a bit awkward hitting the down key so much (could be a bonus powerup?). Good work!

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

cool game idea! 24507

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I like it a lot. Constantly tapping on the down key is a bit stressing, though.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice entry. Music is LoOoOopy... Thanks for covering my game on Twitch.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Nice entry.

copain says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:45am

21456.
Nice start but little powerups or other maybe prevent repetitive sensation.

Rock48 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Pretty Good!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]