Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Subspace

by Ratchetmon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Subspace is a maze game with some puzzle elements in the form of a ability to go beneath space into subspace to navigate an underground crypt filled with the danger of getting lost.

Also find the lamp before entering the crypt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Theme3.59
#596Innovation3.00
#936Audio1.87
#1010Graphics2.47
#1026Overall2.68
#1040Fun2.41
#1049Mood2.38
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

First!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Link to the download seems to be down. Take a look?

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

Reuploaded, try now.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Cool idea! I had some trouble figuring out exactly how subspace works though

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

I collected all four artifacts, but the way forward (NNW of where you get subspace?) is still impassable. :(

The lantern could've had a slightly larger radius, but I found my way around easily enough. It felt like doing pure magic mirror shenanigans in "Link to the Past."

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

In certain parts of the maze there are areas that are linked via subspace. A good strategy is to occasionally press z and see if you're on some part of subspace you can move in. It should look like the third screenshot.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

I got frustrated pretty quickly while browsing the crypt. Also, I didn't really understand the function of the subspace mechanic...

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38am

It looks like this didn't quite get finished. It would be nice to have some kind of simple ambient audio. The idea of switching between the two spaces two navigate the maze is pretty awesome. (Took a while for me to find stuff :) ). Although I'm almost positive I got all 4 artifacts, and the wall still didn't let me through :/. Also, when you switch to the subspace after getting an artifact, the artifact reappears.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

I wasn't able to find a lantern, pressed X everywhere. Pressing A made it say "you found the lantern" but upon going inside it was still too dark to see.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

For anybody having trouble finding the lantern, I added a picture of its location.

Softwave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I really like the aesthetic the lantern gives. And I think it's a really interesting idea; the "sub space" and being able to walk through walls. Would be great if fleshed out and finished.

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I got all 4 artefacts but it didn't acknowledge that I did when I went to the end :/ Apparently I didn't have all 4 artefacts

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I like the idea a lot.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Very nice theme using, also hard game.

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:50am

There are good ideas in this game, I liked playing it, only you should add more challange to it.

Teesquared says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:51am

I like the concept a lot. Using it with a dungeon crawl or rogue like would rock.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The concept is nice, but it gets too confusing early on. I'd like to be eased into it a bit more.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]