Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

tell my story

by mjrevel - Jam Entry

"tell my story" is about a lone explorer traversing a cavern... for what, is a mystery. During the explorers travels, they will come across memento's of those who have failed to complete the journey. Each split of the cavern questions the explorers sanity as they try to reach their goal.

Note: The current web port still needs some optimization and is best run in Chrome at the moment. Bug 1: As seen in the screenshot, each split in the cavern is supposed to have a visible response to each question based on the cavern path you choose to traverse. (soon to be patched)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Mood(Jam)3.30
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#696Graphics(Jam)2.31
#716Overall(Jam)2.38
#748Fun(Jam)1.88
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

Nice concept but you might want to round the score to an int and check that the same question doesn't appear twice.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice concept. Controls were a little wonky and the numbers up top were distracting.

barryrowe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Kivifreak, pancakecity. Thanks for playing, and glad you liked the concept! We're working on the float rounding and asset size issues with the HTML5 port.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

That moved painfully slow. I played for about three minutes, but I didn't see anything interesting, I was just watching the character animate while rocks moved up alongside me. Was there supposed to be something happening?

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

Nice idea!

pikkpoiss says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

Pressing 'D' seemed to cause the character just to walk right forever. I didn't seem to be able to actually pick up gold pieces. Atmosphere was really nice though, I could see this be pretty interesting if you saw the character evolve more somehow, but I didn't have too much patience to walk slowly for more than 5 minutes without doing much more than holding down.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

Why not make the camera follow the player instead of moving really slowly?

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I unfortunately didn't get very far--I had similar issues with the level panning for no apparent reason and the sluggish movement of the character. My second time I tried going outside the path, just to find out whether I could or not, and wound up walking through the rock wall (a unidirectional process).

The other thing I'd say is that if your questions are randomized, it's difficult for them to provide a narrative. I don't learn much from looking at binary questions of whether "wealth or fame" are more important, when the game tells me to gather wealth but the only gold dust I saw was deemed "worthless." It seems like a contradiction in terms.

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Movement is a little slow and there doesn't seem to be anything that points you in the direction you're supposed to be going in, but otherwise, the game has a nice atmosphere and feel to it :)

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I love the synths. I have to scroll to fit the game in my browser window, which is awkward. When I try to move up or down, the window scrolls too, and I can move faster than the camera scrolls, which is really frustrating. I think you left the debug mode in. Some of the text occasionally goes off screen. It wasn't clear to me that the black blob was the player for a while. My story is of little interest.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:02am

Enigmatic and interesting! But very quickly the the lag gets very high and a little after the first choice the lag has slowed my whole computer down and I had to close it.
It would also be nice if the scroll speed is dependent on the player's location on the screen, so that the player wouldn't have to wait for the scrolling before walking.

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08am

I don't really get it. It looks really good though, and the fact that I didn't get it did sort of create a sense of mystery. That combined with the graphics and writing gives it a strong mood. A little confusing to me, but still good!

mark.goetz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:13am

This is a really interesting take and I love the way you communicate mood through the theme, audio, and graphics. I feel like I might've been missing something though, because I never encountered any gold (maybe that's the point?) and my character just walked off the bottom edge of the screen after a while. But I love the physical nature with which you make decisions.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:16am

This was interesting at first. The slow pace and the repeating "messages" made me stop playing before I got to the end.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I like the idea, but the gameplay is painfully slow :( I'd be better to move the camera along the player and not have to wait for the camera to catch up the player.

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The concept is nice, and the music choice is great, but the abrupt, short loops and slow walk speed make things harder to sit through.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Kind of a slow game, but I liked it! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]