Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

(HTML5) Under YOUR Skin

by luisfelipeart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a a white blood cell! Fight of three bacteria Bosses to win the game.

Instructions:
WASD: movement
SPACE: shoot
MOUSE: aim

TOOLS:
Framework: Phaser
Artwork: Photoshop
Sound: Cfxr (Mac port of Sfxr)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#235Theme3.63
#260Graphics3.66
#574Innovation3.05
#709Overall3.03
#719Mood2.81
#748Humor2.18
#780Fun2.76
#786Audio2.29
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

I keep crashing into the top... Level 3 is my best so far...

I really like the background graphics you have going there... Especially the square red blood cells...

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Wow, this game is hard. I love the visual style, it works really well. Well done!

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

This looks so cool. Its a little hard to get used to the controls though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I like that it's totally different theme-wise from what I have seen so far, and still fits.
Also woah.. hard to play with touchpad, still made it to lvl3 .. is that one beatable?:)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

It's really hard!

Mefteg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Yeah really hard! I like the mood :)

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

Good game.
But way too hard...

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:20am

Incredibly innovative take on the theme!

For those who couldn't make it; level three is indeed impossible :P

I don't know if you were aware but you can still shot after death. So, I shot the level 3 enemy (is it a virus? :3) after death and it's healthbar went negative :P Screenshot below.

http://i.gyazo.com/3babbf11d12eac79afdebd0f0f86746e.png

Either way, more levels, and less of a difficulty ramp would have made this a touch better, but you still get the thumbs up from me.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I like the graphics! Very nice.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice idea and I really liked the color combination. It's a bit to hard to control, maybe it would've been easier to shoot with the mouse button. Also I was able to win after I was dead, I just kept shooting .

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

The controls were too hard, but the game was fun!

voidqk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:03am

you can keep shooting after you die... got to level 3 but the health bar goes negative :-)

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48am

hard game - love it :D

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:23am

I didn't really like that the bullets went faster the farther away my mouse cursor was. Felt unnecessary. I wish they would just go max speed all the time. Also, holding down left-click would've been much better than holding space to shoot.

Some music would've been nice, even just something ambient and moody. Sound effects were ok.

Graphics are probably where this game performed best, the red-blood cells were a nice touch.

The controls are simply out of this world. It was extremely difficult to control the white blood cell and sometimes it felt like they were purely random forces knocking it around. The playable area felt just a little too confining, but I guess that adds to the difficulty and is probably intentional.

Overall, interesting concept, cool take on the theme. I was hoping to see a few "under the skin" or inside the human body games, but this is the first I've encountered so far.

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice game with cool graphics, hard but enjoyable.

Rainpath says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:12am

One HUGE problem for me: The controls are nearly impossible on a laptop. I keep reflexively clicking instead of pressing space bar.

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:52am

Super difficult! Also possible to keep shooting after you die.

jadams says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:49am

I enjoyed the visuals, but found the controls awkward. It felt like I was missing something about how the movement worked and kept clicking to shoot rather than use space.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:12am

This was a pretty fun game to play! Was hard to control but I'm guessing that was by design :)

Kaoin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:51am

Awesome graphics, it could use with some gameplay tweaks, Fritzendugan's above comment pretty much nailed it on the head. Overall a good submission!

Daiwen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:44am

The game is nice as far as graphics and sound goes but the I feel like the controls make it really frustating.

czery says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very steep learning curb.
But nice concept.

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The gameplay is nice, but the movement makes it very hard.

vigrid says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The controls made this game harder than it needed to be. Overall - it's a good use of the theme.

DaBeast900 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Great game, but there's one problem, when I die, I can still shoot

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Looks great. I found the easing on the controls way too frustrating, couldn't stop sliding into the walls.

May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Challenging but fun game! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]