Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bone Up

by mir007 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bone Up is a game where you are a dog looking for bones and driving away lawn pestering moles (all called Molemort). You score well if you don't dig too much and keep the master happy.

Give it a go!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#176Humor3.21
#194Theme3.68
#253Audio3.26
#308Graphics3.58
#332Mood3.25
#482Fun3.10
#484Overall3.25
#526Innovation3.10

Comments

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Neat! At first I didn't realize how the bone system functions, but after I got the hang of it it was pretty interesting and fun! The slow acceleration felt a bit weird and the music felt a tad repetitive (although obviously mad respect for composing music in the first place!)

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

A cool little game with a great presentation. It's a little slow to take off and I'm not sure if the gameplay is there yet but there's definitely potential for further development here.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really nice and fun, it gets you in a happy mood. :)
I love the graphics and animations, well done!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I like the art style and I hope you keep up working on a post-compo version :) Did you considered to speed up the dog's walking and digging?

mir007 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Thanks guys! Very positive feedback! I'm pretty happy with it too and I think I'm going to make a post-compo version. Any input is very welcome. I'll just have to rest a few days before I start again. :)

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

A cute little game, with nice music and assets. If you continue to work on the gameplay, it will be really interesting! :)

ceosol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Really cute. The pixel art on the dog jumping around fit perfectly.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Cute little game. I enjoyed it.

Nelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice dog, nice grass!

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

Pretty nice... and cute. Heh.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

A really cute game! The art- and music-style work well together. I enjoyed playing this!

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

Love the music in this (despite it being super repetitive).

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

Simple and Nice !
I think you've got a good start for a children tablet game.
Go on!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Not sure how the scoring system worked. But it was fun! The pixel art's cool, and the music goes well with it.

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21am

Very cute, nice relaxing game and happy.

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26am

It was a great game. lost of fun

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

Cute and funny :)

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

The music was great!
It fit with the dog, making the chords seem like dog barks

Unfortunately after a while it gets very repetitive

Nice little game

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Love the aesthetics, fun uplifting game. Well done!

travislucia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Dog games are great! This was fun and cute. Good job!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28am

Very cute dog simulator.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Neat little game, love the animations ! :D

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Pretty cool beautifully designed little game.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Great little game, really liked the dog animation and music.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Aww, this is adorable :)

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Ahah I love how it is super happy and fun :) But the game is very simple and I didn't really understand how the score worked (Did I have to catch all the moles?) Good job!

mir007 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:40am

Thanks for the comments! The scoring is a little strange due to me experimenting with it a little.. ;) I have made a post compo game, where the scoring is better. And yes, you have to catch the moles!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]