Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

mem29

by JangoBrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first-ever entry to LD48, I hope you like it :-)

mem29's base idea is similar to the Memory board game (therefore the name "mem29"), although there are a few (pretty important) things which are different.
The pictures on the cards are all objects from famous video games by the way - and yes, before you ask, I did draw all of them myself.
How to play can be looked up in the game, I think it should be pretty straightforward. In the beginning it is very easy, but it becomes harder.

Tools used:
* JangoDare engine (http://github.com/JangoBrick/JangoDare)
* Eclipse for coding
* Bfxr for sound effects
* Gimp for graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#531Audio2.82
#639Graphics3.03
#661Fun2.90
#776Humor2.14
#825Overall2.91
#1041Mood2.40
#1129Theme2.29
#1178Innovation2.07

Comments

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Not really based on the theme, Had fun though, I like these kind of games

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

@Enzo42: My idea behind all this was "beneath the surface of the cards" ;)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Cool game but not based on the theme that much.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

The game isnt really innovative, thought I like the solid feeling the game has. Thought i cant see how the theme fits. Nice for a first entry! :)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I really like these memory games. Nice clean usable interface as well. Nicely done.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Beautiful Game! But really hard. Please vote for my game.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Matching game with a good twist in mechanics. Very well done! (By the way, though, the levels are more fun when they're small.)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

Fun game. Well done for your first entry!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Quite challenging! Good job for a first participation!

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

lotsa fun. very smooth/solid. love the cards. very cute with the beneath the surface of the cards idea. super clever.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

291 points. :-)
Pretty well made. Also good take on the theme.
I would have enjoyed a higher resolution or lower resolution of the graphics. This looked not like pixel art neither hand painted.

mutilator says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I like this twist on a matching game where you can look at the cards before you pick them. The scoring is good along with the art and sounds. I also do see how it fits into the theme beneath the surface with the cards, its for sure not something I would have come up with.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:45pm

i find the game limits too much the number of tries. Winning in the end is mostly a matter of being lucky, rather than memorizing the cards position. that being said, I can say that controls were tight, artwork was very nice and the game was very smooth. Only a bit hard ;).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]