Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Onca

by cheesepencil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's supposed to be a cedilla on the 'c' in "Onca" but it appears i can't use special characters in the title or description. On���§a is pronounced "ON-sah".

You are the leopard beneath the rainforest's canopy. Click to move, click to eat pigs if you're close enough, left shift plus click to run. Click the leopard to sleep.

Don't eat? Then starve.
Don't rest? Then die of exhaustion.

The wild pigs are food. You may have to chase them. Running fatigues you very quickly. Food repopulates slowly, but the forest is large. Expand your territory and prosper.

Click like crazy. Click to get past the title screen. Spacebar respawns when you die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#510Innovation3.12
#511Graphics3.23
#632Mood2.91
#922Overall2.80
#991Fun2.48
#1083Theme2.40
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really appreciated getting to play this entry! It's a different interpretation of the theme, and it's nice to have a different setting, too. Also--pretty graphics, for sure!

Some things to keep in mind for next time are that the camera height can make it kind of hard to even see the pigs, they're so far away, and that also it'd be easier to control if you didn't have to click over again (if you could just hold your mouse down and Onca would move in that direction, that would have been easier for me, I think). However, in the context of a jam, there's always things you can do better, right? Great job!

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Please get the binary out there as well, Unity is far from being a true web standard. It alienates us Linux users ;).

otato says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Very interesting concept. Enjoyed eating little animals :)

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:37am

Thanks for making the binaries available, especially for Linux. That was really cool! :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:03am

Interesting concept, but the mechanics of eating animals is not very convenient.
Nice game :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:00pm

It's a clever idea, but I found it sort of difficult to run into pigs.

mechabit says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Good job for 48 hours. I like the leaf shadows. Would have been better with a sneaking/pouncing mechanic, maybe a stamina bar for sprinting.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:42pm

the collision with pig was very frustrating. Having to clic many time to run instead of hold left mouse button always pushing me into tragedies like : falling asleep just when I was near a pig or randomly walking into wall.
Apart from that, it was refreshing to be a leopard in the forest it's a very original world for a game.

May 6, 2014 @ 12:09am

Lovely mood! I wish the controls were a little tighter. See, when camera turns, I'm now clicking on a different place, where I don't want to go. Otherwise fantastic for 48 hours!

cheesepencil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:30am

Thanks for playing you guys, I'll take that all into account. I wanna juice it up and release a polished version on mobile so I appreciate the feedback.

delfino says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Nice idea/concept, looks good but it's pretty tough to actually get the pigs. A few times I collided with them and I still didn't eat them. Pretty difficult (not that that's necessarily a bad thing). I starved to death right after eating a pig

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]