Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinidrill

by shaulor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drill til you Drop! :)

considering it's my firs LD48, at least i finished something :D

had a few more things in mind but things got complicated ;)
you'll need python and pygame to run the source

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Innovation3.71
#275Theme3.59
#777Graphics2.82
#780Fun2.76
#850Overall2.88
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

Cool idea. I think a couple minor changes would really help this stand out. The drill could be a little more responsive, so I could make minor adjustments and not rely on luck to line things up. Also the screen should scroll to the right more when I advance. But it's a pretty neat idea, I had fun.

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Very cool, great idea, had fun.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Interesting idea. Needs lots more polish though. :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

It's an interesting concept, keep working on it. :)

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Not bad!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

A good concept, pretty innovative. If the drill's control was less clunky, and with a little bit of polish, I feel this could make a good app.

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:26am

Neat idea. A bit too easy because I never had too actually drill around the stone bits.
Could be interesting with more challenging levels.

Interesting music!

evilseanbot says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Interesting mechanic, but too unresponsive and unforgiving

igpollitzer says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice game, I found the idea original, and the game challenging fun. I've seen you've checked my game. Thank for your comment, I updated the info to make it easier to play.

f7f5 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:13pm

The "snake" drill is a cool idea. The executions need some refinement (better drill response to commands, sometimes you can get blocked by your previous attempts into an unwinnable position...)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]