Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Regrowth

by RensGroothuijsen - Jam Entry

-----
The game in one sentence
-----
Excavate and plant a tree by launching dwarves at whatever stands in your way.
-----

-----
Story
-----
A long time ago, a great disaster struck and the world was destroyed. No one knows exactly how long ago, because most surface-dwellers did not survive. The earth turned into a barren wasteland, leaving nothing but fire and ash in many places. The dwarves, their existence unknown to the world, lived in relative safety far beneath the earth, and so they survived. Now, they plan to restore the world's vegetation byplanting their trees on the surface. However, their trees and machinery are too large to bring through the narrows pathways to the surface. Lacking better projectiles, they decided to use themselves instead, which is possible since they're very tough people. This way, they would create a hole to the surface at certain weak spots, use balloons to lift the tree upwards, and drop it in a fertile spot by popping the balloons. Since their arms are too short to fling each other, however, they have decided to recruit the help of a young man with longer arms, who will fling them instead. Unfortunately, bringing the tree to the surface isn't the only problem they face. There are goblins beneath the surface who want the wood of the trees, and will come to chop it down.
-----

-----
Technical notes
----- Unity has packed the entire game into an exe file, so if you just click that you should be good to go. I've tested the game at 1280*768, and stuff looked fairly good, but if you run into any problems I'll be glad to hear it. Until next time!

-----
Update history
-----
- Version 2: Included data folder so that game starts properly
- Version 3: Addressed a collision bug where game would potentially become unwinnable. Comment below if problem persists.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Just a heads up: [There should be 'Regrowth_Data'
folder next to the executable] happens, can't run the game. I believe you may be able to patch and fix it post-deadline. Good luck in the future!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Thanks for the warning, apparently I was supposed to include the data folder with the exe. Updated the link now.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is a cute idea! The controls and general goals reminded me of a really neat cannon game I used to play, so good job there. However, there was a pretty bad bug--I started on an underground level, and even after clearing all of the blocks, the tree didn't gain enough air for it to take off. It just kind of slid sideways and intersected the unbreakable portion of the ceiling, and stayed there.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Most remarkable. I know what bug you're talking about (I've had it happen before) but I must've playtested it a dozen times before uploading. In the future, I'll have to introduce additional bug handling.

chagroo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Too bad there is only one level in it, otherwise it could have been a pretty promising game. Also I had to quit the game with ALT+F4 (would be nice if you had a menu which you could use to quit with). Other than that it seems like a fun idea. I also like the fact you implemented 3D and physics.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This is a great start, although definitely has some bugs in that can be polished with more time. The controls are a little hard to get used to, but overall very nice job!

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Cool story bro, wanna check out my game (click on my name :D)

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:41am

Interesting story with cute music. The controls were a bit hard.

Rock48 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:45am

No web player version?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]