Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inner War

by KickBack - Jam Entry

Here is our entry for the Ludum Dare Jam 29!

It's our first time doing this. It's an adventure-ish kind of game (no puzzles!), with a unique dialogue choosing method. It also has 4 different endings :P

Most of the characters were taken from our only game "Lost Echo". A lot of the music is also original but most of it is from bits and pieces we had already. Everything else was made from scratch.

Controls:
WASD: Move
Mouse: Aim
Left Click: Attack
Right Click: Block
Left Click (while holding down right): Push Back

You have to guide the "emotions" you want to the surface (mostly by killing the other emotion).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#6Innovation(Jam)4.24
#30Graphics(Jam)4.51
#42Overall(Jam)3.89
#71Theme(Jam)3.81
#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#153Audio(Jam)3.56
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#362Humor(Jam)2.58

Comments

gapgen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Interesting idea! The production values were great, although the minigame was kinda hard to control (maybe on a second playthrough it'd be more intuitive).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

You've done an outstanding work with the lights and the overall mood.
The idea of mixing up a "visual novel" style game with defense mechanics was quite interesting! I think that it would be really if the story was responsive to the defense gameplay in real time rather than bein a long alternative to a text box.
Good work!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Ha. Ok, interesting idea and you have the graphical assets to back it up. The actual controls could have been more polished though. As nice as it looks, it plays kinda ... statically, rigidly, flatly. Although it might just be that I don't like those kinds of controls.

I'll say this, for LD - this is a really good game, with the combat mechanics that slightly lessen the game, but the variety of combat areas at least make me want to keep playing to see what you've thought of next.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

WOW! An adventure twin stick shooter-y thing with gorgeous graphics and great mood. Indecision is a favorite topic of mine. Or is it?

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Really interesting work. Try making it a little more intuitive.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Cool concept realised with really top notch graphics! There were some bits I wanted to skip, not due to content, just impatience on my part! ;D (I also got pushed into a corner awkwardly in one of the mini games and got stuck... bit like being on the subway in rush hour really...)

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Just great.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Wanted to keep playing and playing to get the different endings - a great idea for Ludum Dare. Lovely graphics, they are standout!

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Wow, awesome idea. The graphics look great, the music fits perfectly. It's an awesome take on the theme. Well done!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

That's pretty good concept, congrats

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Very nice interpretation of the theme! I also really liked the way you use the screen space (with the two game modes). Nice graphics too. Only remark i have: moving in the minigame felt quite clunky. Aside from that, a great entry!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

This was a great concept! I really like the idea that you don't actually have control of the character, but of the internal battle of decision-making. The one downside is that it ends up being short since you have to script everything, but you still got a lot done in the time limit. Good visuals, good audio, and an overall fun little game. Good job!

pLaw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Wow! Stunning graphics, and a nice take on the Theme. I'm not a fan of cutscenes in games but this impressed me.

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Loving the theme of this game. Not sure how I can get all the endings though (found 3 so far)...

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

This is awesome! Really great effort, it looks and sounds great and there is a lot of attention to detail which is cool. Thanks for sharing!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Well made. The controls need a bit responsiveness to changes in direction, though.

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

incredible game. I love the juxtaposition of the inner and outer struggles of this poor dude. Also I like that it wasn't glitchy. the indecisive ending was kinda hilarious.

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Excellent! Completely unique and unexpected. I enjoyed it a lot. It also reminded me to drop off my rent cheque!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Hi. That's a novel mechanic... reminds me of cartoons with devils and angels on shoulders. Look and feel amazing, the operational mechanics of the spike/sword to destroy the little guys is a bit troublesome. I can see how this could lead to a great world to explore with a mixture of choice and skill to even exercise that choice.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:56am

really interesting idea - the controls were a bit tiff tho - very cool effects on some of the sequences - great job

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

OMG. Really man, NICE WORK ! Nice ! :D

adamwoolridge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19am

Good use of two game types!

Charimation says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

Absolutely wonderful :D Really nice concept and I love the integration of the two game types! Really cool ^^

May 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

This is awesome! The interaction between the two layers of game is really fascinating. I like the slightly dystopian art style. Really cool.

simplesmiler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Gorgeous visuals. Great use of theme. Top marks.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:14am

Great look and presentation. Liked your interpretation of the theme. Very unique. Nice work.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:20am

Wonderful graphics! that guy just cant get a break!

DarknessFades says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I cant run game :C

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:00pm

wonderful game, although I didn't get what I am suppost to do the first time the defence mode started

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Pretty neat conceptually! I feel like maybe the "inner war" sections could be faster paced and/or more challenging to keep me more engaged.

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:00am

I think Greg would be a lot happier if he had a keyboard and mouse ; ) Very cool idea and nice graphics. What's the fourth ending???

Waterman7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:31pm

What a great concept and execution! I would love to see this developed further.

KickBack says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Hey everyone, thank you so much for the comments! We are really excited that a lot of people seem to like the concept.

Since quite a few asked about the endings.

1) You have to fail at getting any emotion out at least twice (indecisive ending)
2) "Good boy" ending if you have at least 3 times a good and "proper" emotion.
3) "Fed Up" ending is if you let the "evil" emotions 3 times.
4) The actual good ending, is if you get 2 "good" and 2 "evil". The idea behind it is that only if you balance your emotions properly (and that means letting your bad emotions out some times), you can have peace of mind.

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

Really like the idea and so well executed. Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:23pm

It's gorgeous and an interesting idea, but... I just... I don't really like it. I like my interactive fiction to be interactive, but this is not a way I like it. I do like how the angel or devil appears in the scene depending on how it comes out, and I like the fact that every battle is different, though.

KickBack says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:37pm

@Crowbeak, I think that's fair. The idea is that you interact indirectly. You are trying to manage the character's head and the results of that interact with the story. There is obviously a lot more room for expansion.

May 19, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Well this is mightily impressive :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]