Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flyvery

by Maek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So here it is, my 48h game.

Have fun by playing the Game!

Description:
This game is an endless runner so don't try to find the end.
You have to fly in a tunnel beneath the earth's surface. You can shoot at the other cars to reach coins. With these coins you can tune your car.

Control:
WASD to move
Hold SPACE to shoot
ESC for pause

Info:
In the Windows version the Highscore will be saved in a File. In the Cross Platform nothing will be saved when you stop the Game. So when you have problems on Windows with the Windows version try the Cross Platform version.

EDIT********HOLD SPACE TO SHOOT**********

********That's intentional*******Sorry that I programmed the shoting system like this**********EDIT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#896Humor1.95
#999Audio1.65
#1017Fun2.45
#1018Graphics2.45
#1171Mood2.03
#1204Overall2.30
#1216Theme1.95
#1235Innovation1.85

Comments

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Shooting wasn't very responsive, and I found it too difficult to hit the other cars.

Holofire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I enjoyed this game quite alot. Very simple and fun. Nice job!

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Hmm, yea, shooting wasn't working very well. Also I think some sounds would have made it better.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Being able to fire faster would be nice. And pay me more for shooting the ships, or else it'll take me forever to earn upgrades.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Okay game. I can't see the bullets. I can't see the benefit of speeding up though, so I drove on low speed, shooting other cars, collecting money.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I enjoyed the game, pretty good. The only thing I disliked where the things in the roof that wrecked your car. Other than that I'd like to see some upgrades for the gun as well, but overall it was fun.

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Good little game. I enjoyed it !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Great game ! Congratulations !

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Frankly it could use either some shooting upgrade options in the tuning section or gold rewards every couple of meters depending on how fast you've been going without crashing, but still it's well done for a first game.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

830 high score.
It is a very interesting game, I have no critique, just suggestion.
A shield tuning/protection orb power-up/whatever would be very handy, because in these games (subway surfer, temple run) the point is to get as far as possible and the further you go the more the pressure escalates, adding a few chance-based or costly defence mechanism will add more thrill as you will occasionally surpass your previous achievements and at those moments will have to be careful and maintain focus... *blah, blah blah and he keeps talking*

Anyway, nice entry.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Well, pretty simple game. Shooting is somewhat weird - seems like it's unresponsive sometimes.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Shooting seems unresponsive unless you hold the button.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

nice simple game. cool you could speed up, but didn't see a reason to.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Not responsive enough to be fully enjoyable.

Capitals says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59am

I found it hard to hit the cars, despite that I found it interesting.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I think I gave you most of the comments during the stream, so... you know!

pedrosanta says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:03pm

At first I didn't quite figured out the game and I though the firing control was bad. Then I read the description and figured it out. It improved a little bit, but even so I found that it was little related to the theme and that the overall mechanic was a little bit poor. Also, it had no sound and had rather poor graphics for the genre. It still needs a lot of polish to be engaging (sound, kickass graphics, etc).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]