Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In The Blood

by hexagore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to survive as long as you can.

Small grey things are taggers. If you hit them, you get 'tagged'.

The more tags you have, the faster the big white things will chase you.

When you have tags, you can get rid of them by touching the green things.

Arrows to move.

Works in Chrome and Firefox without any plugins. It's Javascript, HTML, WebGL, Three.JS

*UPDATE* - I have discovered that on slower computers the movement of the virus wasn't being normalised properly which meant it was impossible to play. I have pushed a fix which means that the virus moves at the same speed for everyone now. I hope this is okay.

*UPDATE 2* - Discovered the game was lagging very badly on Chrome today. I killed Chrome completely and started it again and suddenly it was fine. No idea.

*UPDATE 3* - Post Compo version added. This really just tries to improve the visibility and reduce the motion sickness a bit. Adds lighting effects to help indicate how much trouble you might be in and it generally gets harder the longer you survive so there's now progression, but it's basically teh same game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#108Graphics3.98
#307Mood3.30
#312Audio3.15
#364Theme3.47
#412Overall3.32
#482Fun3.10
#583Innovation3.03
#901Humor1.94

Comments

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56am

87.230s :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

Love the atmosphere! The pulsing blood-particles and the beating track really make this :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

@IanMacLarty haha not bad! I think the green bacteria come along too frequently. Makes it far too easy ;)

@matthias thanks! :) didn't seem like a chip tune sort of game really!

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

I really like the way gathering more "markers" causes the anti-bodies to become more alerted to your presence.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Wow! I love it!
the atmosphere, the graphics, the sounds, very nice!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

33s

amazing mood. didn't manage to catch the green things. what happens then?

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

When you catch the green bacteria things, any tags you have are passed onto them, which means the white blood cells will ignore you again... until you get another tag. :)

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

"Sorry, you're either on iOS or some antique browser. No 'In The Blood' for you!". As far as I know Chrome is not antique

It worked in firefox though

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

The background is a bit disorienting at first, but once you get used to it the pulsing red blood cells really add some atmosphere to the game.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

@martinjn oh dear. That error pops up if there's any problem creating a WebGL context which can sometimes happen even with decent browsers. Glad Firefox was okay for you!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

@Halbernacht Yes, I've made myself a bit dizzy playing this. Might have gone a *bit* too far...

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice, love it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Love the audio, very atmospheric, and extremely addictive!

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Very cool, loved the avoidance style endless runner. Should consider a mobile port down the line ^^ I think it needed a heavy dub beat in the background ;)

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Amazing concept, so nice :)

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Really great. Loved it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Not bad!, a bit simple, however that is how actually the inmune system works! the thing about tagging viruses. Nice graphics! and innovation!

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I really love the athmosphere and the sound!!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

@Kara Everything sounds better with a bit of wub :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

@Emmanuel it would have been nice to have more time to really tune the gameplay for sure, difficulty progression etc, more entity types. Oh well!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

94.518s, like the graphics and title screen design.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

94s is pretty good!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice game, but the pulsation and alot of moving object gave me motion sickness. Soundtrack is really fitting.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Great work! :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Very nice and oppression athmosphere !

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Gahhh 50s only. I think the gray hazards should contrast more with the background.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

50 seconds isn't bad. ;)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Wow, I really like it :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Wow, I loved the feel of this game. It was a little difficult to fully grasp what all the items were, though.

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I really enjoyed the atmosphere with the sound, and the pulsing, omg, really cool.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Very nice! Love the aesthetic & that dark brooding sound. It took me while to get my head around the fact that you're not supposed to collect any of those things. My best time so far was about 35 seconds by the way.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

@vilya but they're just so collectible! Go on, collect them. What's the worst that can happen?

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

13s... One day I will be good at one of your games

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Can't tell if stuff is good or bad

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

97.832!!! Got on a roll there! Fun game - could be very addictive

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

A little confusing at first, but after reading your postmortem it makes more sense now! Great job on the visuals / mood.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

solid game, superb sound

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very much a pro game !

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

That background is awesome, but a little distracting

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

It's meant to be distracting. :)

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

Love this game! It is awesome. Very relaxing sounds and movement. Good color palette. Beautiful!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

Would play longer but pulsating background is really hard on my eyes :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I really liked the mood of the game, my highscore is 47s! ^^

May 1, 2014 @ 11:30am

Catching that green thing is hard!! Nice work on the mood and the graphics!

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very dark, I like it. Quite an original mechanic, sound is good, graphics are impressive.
Could have done with some more depth, it does feel very repetitive, doing the same thing over and over.

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I like this kind of concept. It's instantly fun. And I think it perfectly mixed with your take on the theme. Great graphics too, somewhere inbetween photorealism and a abstract shooter.
Good entry, high grades from me.

hexagore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:25am

:)

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:06am

Excellent graphics, idea is super nice - love it.

atomic_swerve says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:33am

Fun, but I didn't get any audio for some reason. I like the atmosphere of the pumping blood!

SlipperyPete says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:33am

This game is awesome, but just that little bit to hard for me, I can't get to the green bits, and when I do, they don't seem to take the tags, do you have to hit them right on or something, I was half on them, I would assume that would count, right? most similar games it does. Maybe if I could be bothered to actually focus on the game I could get a decent score, but hey. really great graphics BTW really great indeed.

Belvar says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:46am

Fun game with original ideas that renew the classic dodge game. The graphics looks great.

hexagore says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:54am

SlipperyPete ... It doesn't always take *all* your tags, depends how long you can stay in proximity. If you skim the outside it'll probably get a few, but not all! Also the collision detection is pure approximation based on distance squared, I just punched in numbers randomly until it seemed to be working okay. It could be a straight up bug though. Sorry about that!

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

Is 14 seconds a remotely good time? I think I suck, but maybe it's just supposed to be that hard. The heartbeat audio was pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]