Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Atomicle - LostAutumn.net

by AutumnGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in roughly 14 hours, this is my first Ludum Dare entry.

Apparently it is customary to write 'postmortem' after a Game Jam. You can find my development process and notes here:

http://blog.lostautumn.net

--------------------------
Theme: As we all know, Atoms are beneath every surface. Hiding away as the core components of everything we see around us. Reality as we know it made up of Atoms.

In Atomicle, you are Neutron (Circle) collecting the Protons (Squares) while trying to avoid the Tritons (Triangles). There are also Electrons (Red circle) which reverse your direction.

This is a small reflex game inspired by Hexagon.

Tools:
-Photoshop
-GameMaker: Studio
-Mixcraft 6
-Audacity
-The Bohr model of the Atom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Fun3.92
#78Overall3.87
#120Audio3.59
#162Graphics3.87
#181Innovation3.65
#272Mood3.35
#807Humor2.10
#1013Theme2.57

Comments

Sannis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really cool. Love the graphics

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice! This is really polished and the game play makes sense.

Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This is really nice! I'm a bit annoyed by the effect when you collect something but the rest is sweet.

fakeyou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very solid little game, like the idea and the challenge. The effect when you catch a square is a little too strong though, it made me lose track of where I was.

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very lovely music and art style.
Sometimes A/D control is a little bit confusing.
May be some combination of UP/DOWN will work better?

But I like game. Will play it again later!

Galvus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47am

Pleasing music and visuals. Not too deep of a game but the polish really sells it.

Bashosha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21am

very Nice work :)

slehmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Really fantastic game, very well polished and fantastic music. Any chance of releasing the music?

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Fantastic! Really polished and original, although the controls are weird. I'd better use UP/DOWN as dector said.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Favorite game so far, this is actually quite addicting, my only gripes are: It doesn't really fit the theme, and Sometimes i got confused direction-wise when i was switching rings.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Good game, great music, and good art. A and D was confusing, I think up and down would have made more sense.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

feels great, but it's a little confusing to start.

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

The art in this game is gorgeous. I really love the look and feel. Pretty good game with great polish.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Like what's been said, was very polished and pleasent, and a little disorienting control-wise. Good stuff.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Seriously great game. Very polished, but I'm not really sure how it fits with the theme.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Nice, I actually liked to play this :-) 65 on my first game.. I've been hitting wrong buttons all the time when direction changed.. :D Good job on this

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

really fun! I wish the triangles were easier to tell apart from the squares. They should be the red ones! It felt like it really got away from me pretty fast, not sure why. But one of the most fun games I've played so far in the compo! Great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Awesome execution of a great concept. Well done!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

Quite simple. Quite cute. Fun and Challenging!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Quite simple. Quite cute. Fun and Challenging! Addicting!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Simple clean fun. Very nice

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great game overall! The movement is really fluid, and the concept is really interesting and innovative. It's pretty fun to play, and it gets really tough. Its a little to hard to control the game. Loved the simplistic art style and cleanness of the animations. The sound effects are great and the music was good. I feel like the mood was a little different than expected; expected a little techno/sciency feel to it. Great job!

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Very clean game. Enjoyable and simple with good feedback.

cwkx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Really enjoyable, clean, and relaxing; excellent job.

pixelpun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Cool game, but not sure how it relates to the theme... but cool :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Really love it, specially this kind of games, original and addictive!

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Some people have asked about the theme relation. It's core gameplay is based around the structure of an Atom. Protons/Electrons/Neutrons interacting with each other in different ways. ;)

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Game is done.. ship it :)

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Solid and simple mechanics and concept, executed wonderfully. Its visual style and audio was fantastic. A very well produced game, without even considering it was completed within 48 hours. Bravo sir!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

These are fun indeed :D Beautifully crafted, really fluid.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

I say, damn good game sir.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

So, I think this is a very complete game. It's fun, gives you a nice time. Mechanics are nice, easy to understand, and pretty solid. The only complaint I have, is that I have some problems remembering which key is inside and which is outside. Heh, but that's me, I suppose.

You did a great job overall. Planning, and execution.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Very polished. It was kind of relaxing at fist with the piano music, but then the gameplay became crazy frantic.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

Awesome job, I really enjoyed this. I forgot I was playing something made in 48 hours.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Hail Hydra!
Good work. My brain was getting so confused trying to get around the rings :D

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

fun gameplay, impressive amount of polish, amazing job.

would suggest that the triangles be coloured differently than the squares, and also that the final score is displayed more prominently (didn't know I'd started a second round until I realized that my score was lower than it'd been)

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31am

Great game! I think with some work it can become a cool mobile game. Swipes could be used to go up and down or something. My only gripe is that the slow on pickup seems a bit exagereted.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

Awesome game, Hail Hydra!

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

Really nice game, looks very polished for a 48 hour attempt. Excellent stuff!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

This one is really good. Simple and fun!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

I really like the concept, it is challenging

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

Awesome game!, The premise for surface is obvious and controls-wise I preferred using the moused rather the A D keys... seemed a bit more responsive to me

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

nice work :)

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Responsive, Intuitive, Addictive. Loving it!

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice simple mechanic but fun to play. I was surprised you move faster on the outer rings.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

Simple and fun and nice to look at!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

Lovely! I was very confused about the red dot vs the triangle! :(

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nicely polished. I would appreciate, if it was much more hardcore though :)

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19am

Really liked this one. Two minor complaints:
- the triangles in another color to better distinguish them from the rectangles maybe?
- Highscore keeping would be nice so I can beat my own

Other than that I think this has a very nice level of polish und the design is excellent.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Love the game, especially how polished it is (screen shake, sounds, ..)

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

This game is slick, simple and fun! It starts out a little bit slowly, but when it picks up it's really great.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Good game. Looks polished, graphics and audio really suit the game style.

Great work.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Like the gameplay a lot. Easy to understand, hard to master, as it should be :-) And really smooth (except for my virtual machine that ruins the day when the blur/screen shake kick in). One of the best entries so far!

I like how you state Bohr's atomic model as one of your tools :3

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Cool game. Don't really see how it fits the theme though.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Really fun and clean, little game :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16am

This is cool. Great graphics and original concept. Makes me want a much bigger, faster version though. This could be addictive. Wasn't sure why you had lives if it resets when you die though. Seems like it would suit having a single life, but yeah. Awesome.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Cool idea! Feels very solid.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Most polished game I've seen so far, and I think I love everything about it, even down to the little "hail hydra," made me chuckle :3

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

This game is of the right difficulty and I enjoyed playing it, well done!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Very cool game. Great polished art. Could easily be worked on a bit more and published as a finished game. Nice work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

This is really cool! It looks great and it feels great.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Amazing game! Love the overall pleasant feel of the game. The art style and music really works well together. It's a really elegant game which is simple but tough to master. A really great job well done.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Enjoyed a lot. Great game!

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I have to say, this game is really cool ! The game is simple, the art (especially the music) is very nice. Congrats !

st33d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Nice game. Nitpicks: Wish it didn't start so depressingly slow - takes several minutes to get challenging. Red is the colour of danger, to begin with I avoided the red things and went for the triangles, not knowing they were bad.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Soothing music, great graphics. Really simple but fun game. I'd make the effects a little more subtile when hitting a square. Well done

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Great look and feel. After a minute or two I got it and then got good at it.

Ludusamo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

This game is definitely very addictive. Simply done and very well executed. Well done!

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Well done. One of the best I've so far.
Minor note: I like the simple color pallet, but I kinda wish the triangles were colored differently so I could better keep track of them.
Thanks for the game!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

There's nothing I can really say that hasn't already been said, but it's a really nice game. Super polished!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice little arcade game. The feedback when hitting a square was really nice. Sometimes the triangles spawned in front of me, forcing me to lose the game. But overall a really solid game :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Amazing concept and use of the theme ! I had a lot of fun !

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Hey congrats on your first LD! It looks and feels really great.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Good concept! But what has it to do with the theme? Also, music is a bit too repetitive and tends to make me fall asleep.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

i love the nice simple graphics, nice and quaint

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A neat game :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Very simple and fun to play.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Very nice ! Music and gameplay = <3
Maybe you should have give different colors for square and triangle, hardly discernable when they are rotating and your own circle moving quickly !
Great job !

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Really good effect. I think avoid and correct item are too similar to distinguish at first. But after I got the rule, it's really fun!

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really polished looking! My only complaint is that the effect when you get a +1 feels like you got hit/took damage. I thought I was screwing up for a while at first.

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Wonderful simple game with great graphics and fitting sounds. Even the minimal background music loop fits the game.
I loved the collision effects. Only tiny thing to criticize is that it doesn't fit the theme this well.

amidos2006 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I am happy that my game Atomic or Atomic+ inspired you to that game :) it would be nice of you if you mention it :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Fantastic little game! could easily see this do well on mobile!

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

fantastic concept and perfect art!

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Really nice game. Liked the animation, the sound, and the controls felt good. Would like the difficulty to ramp a little slower so I could play longer.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Interesting gameplay, pretty polished!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really nice to be such a simple game. It feels solid, has great visuals, appropriate sounds/music, and offers a fun little gameplay mechanic. Good job.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Wow! Really polished, interesting concept, and I really wanted to beat my high score!!! I think maybe things sped up a tad too quickly, but this is one of the most polished entries I've seen. Great job on keeping your idea small and nailing the execution!!!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I really like the graphics effects :)

I could see this being a mobile game. Good job :)

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Damn, I hate people who manage to find (and execute!) so simple and addictive concepts.

Really like this, and the music/mood is just perfect for it. :)

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Beautiful game and fun to play! It's not great at conveying gameplay though. The most menacing looking piece isn't actually bad (the red dot) and the triangles that are bad look identical to the squares.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Very well done!

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Oh.. this is good. Everything is spot on. I hate you in a good way. haha I can see this game on mobile. Do you have any plans to port it?

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

challenging but fun once you get the controls down. When you get spun around, it kind of has a super hexagon feel to it, challenge wise. You did a really nice job on the nice clean colors and shapes, it all looks very appealing to the eyes :)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Absolutely stellar work you have here :)
Beautiful.

Shmarah says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Cute cute cute cute cute ^^
I have to show this to all my science teachers now... Love it; inspired!

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Very interesting. Wish I had read the rules first. Got into it for a while then tried to read them while playing :) Nice idea for a game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

simple game play that works. this is a very fun game but it does get hard very fast. great job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice mini game!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

I love the graphics. Concept is cool. Good job !

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Liked the gameplay, loved the simplicity and the sound. Well done, extra kudos for being a first timer!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

Lovely! THE JUICIEST GAME :) I love it! The speed up mechanics make death really awwww inducing! I love the juice! But the juice is a bit mismatched initially - when I picked something up I thought I'd got hit and died :/ But I learned the right stuff eventually.

Multiplayer? :) Perfect for mobile :) A bit like orbit1 I guess :P

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50am

Neat gameplay, especially for such a simple game! Good job on the idea and execution!

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

Awesome! I like it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43am

Great game. Especially for 14 hours? I loved the gameplay. The sounds and the screen shake were very satisfying. Suggestion: Make the red dot be the thing that hurts you and the triangle reverse you (and maybe a "safe" color). Great work.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice game! Stretching theme use just a bit to me any ways.

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

Thanks for all the awesome feedback and advice.

I am currently reworking the control and game mechanics to be a lot more smooth, changing the color scheme a bit, and adding menus, global leaderboards, and will have a full version available for Android and Windows phones in the next week.

You can keep up to date and read my postmortem at:
http://blog.lostautumn.net

Again, all your feedback and comments are invaluable. Thank you very much.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30am

Wowzers. the most polished game i've played so far. and nice simple mechanics. could easily be developed into a full game!

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

Really good and solid idea. Polished work.

But I think :
-It's going too fast too quick !
-I can't see enough difference between particules. Change color of tritons ?
-I don't feel confortable with the keys. Up arrow allow me to go up or down... Maybe use the four direction ?
- What about touching circles ?

Good work btw !

Flux says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

Loved the music, and like many said, the graphics. Strangely hypnotic. My only complaint is the scoring effects, the first time it happened to me, I thought I did something wrong, it didn't read like I did something right (positive reinforcement), but instead it did make me feel like I got "hit" and was something to avoid. Perhaps needs a new sound and toned down screenshake. Finally, the triangles as things to avoid were unclear, and seemed too similar to the squares visually.

jomacel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great game, excellent mechanics and execution. Could play for hours

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Really well done!

lief says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

nicely polished game, maybe it relates to the theme as all are/is atoms beneath the surface?

controls were slightly off for me, would the scroll wheel work? up/down?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

really polished and simple and fun ..good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great game! The mechanics works great! It's a great game for just 14 hours. :)

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Really fun ;D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice and simple game play very well executed. I liked it! It reminded me of Super Hexagon.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

This is the most fun of all that I've played. The reversals are brilliant.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Having the triangles and squares be the same color definitely adds to the challenge; it would be interesting to try a different color for the Tritons!

Great work

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Your game is great, I like it very much. The idea with the atom is good too, but is quickly forgotten while playing this addictive game. I played a similar one a few years ago, but the mechanics are still great. Simple games are the best.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very cool game. I found it confusing cause I instinctively wanted to avoid the red things and catch the triangles, so when the game got faster I always died because I was reaching for the triangle :/ Still very good job, I enjoyed it quite a bit.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great game! The fact that I didn't initially know what the red globes would do was a fun surprise. I thought the controls were a bit weird in the beginning but soon got used to them. All in all, awesome!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Simple but challenging. Well done! Cool concept.

And I really like the collecting effect. Sells it for me.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

really nice game, those red circles are not fun! Messed me up everytime haha :D

idovingx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

nice, really fun. i'll probably come back and play this later

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice game... the only thing that bothers me (and I don't know if it was intentional) is that it's a clone of RogueNoodle's 9.9 that he made for the Cyberpunkjam...

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Yeah, it's addictive! love it :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Such "juicy" graphics, really well executed.

4026 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

The clean graphical style works beautifully, and the crunchy hit / move effects give real feedback to every action.

As others have said, though, I feel that the visual distortion effect is going a bit too far for a game so dependent on quick reactions.

Similarly, if you could find a way to include different colours for Protons and Tritons in your minimal palette, I think that would help to visually distinguish them while trying to plan movements at speed.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

Really cool game for your first ludumdare entry! I loved playing it. My sister is in med school. I might have to send this to her to play haha

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

Really nice, it would be more effective if collectibles are in a different color of the monsters. I like also how the tutorial is shown.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Fantastic!!!!!!!!

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:25am

Everything is perfect in this game, very addictive, nice work :)

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Great game. Really clean look and feel. Well executed concept.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

Besides being an atom, I'm confused as to how this fits "beneath the surface". If the theme had been different, I'd have rated it higher, since this is overall a very good example of what can be done in 48 hours. I'd actually suggest seeing if Apple is interested in it as it's the type of game that could really take off there.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33am

Really awesome, great gameplay. Loved the color scheme and the music + sfx.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:55am

55. Really like the simple mechanic.

DarkUser says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

I played this game in the fucking Cyberpunk jam last month. And it was made by someone else apparently........

http://roguenoodle.itch.io/9point9

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16am

Fun little game. Love the colors. The reaction to collecting squares is a little jarring. I thought they were hurting me at first, but after that it was great!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35am

Nice minimalist atom thingy! The triangles could sometimes be unavoidable, but fun nonetheless.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:59am

This was stunning! Thanks.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21am

Very cool game! The mood is excellent, only thing that was bugging me is the sound and animation when you hit the Protons, since they are not hazards a more smooth effect would be better in my opinion

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56am

Aestatics are really well done, nice minimalistic

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

That was a lot of fun. The game looks nice, feels nice, it's calm and simple.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:38am

Nice game, I really like the gameplay.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great execution. Complete entry - superb audio, slick graphics and good idea. I congratulate you dear sir.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Cool screen shake :P. nice abstract art

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Please make this on mobile. So pretty! The music was the best part.

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Great art, fun game! It's a quality game Congrats!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I must apologize in advance for my harshness.

This game is quite similar to Atomic+. It might be called a clone. It's not fair that you didn't mention Atomic+ as inspiration.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I have to say that I also think you should have credited Atomic+ as inspiration. The game is different enough that I wouldn't call it a straight-up clone, but I also find it... interesting... that you didn't even mention it.

cochu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Nice & clean, well done !

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great game, really relaxing to play and the music is great :)

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Cool game. Putting the triangle in red would have made more sense for me but great game anyway.

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Cool nice looking game :)

acerunox says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great game. Really.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

That was beautiful. I loved the music and graphics and everything! awesome game

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Pure awesomness.. I really liked the feeling of the game. Exceptionally smooth. My only concern was that the CUTE TRIANGLE doesn't look like an enemy (or in this case an Anti-Electron).

foolmoron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Everything is top notch. One criticism is that it's hard to remember whether left click makes you go in or out.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

This was lovely and the controls were quite smooth. Great job!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Beautiful game. Nuff said.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This game is fantastic ! Simple and effective, beautiful work on art, camera shaking, sounds.

You should watch Soundodger ,you're game made me think to it !

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Really well made but you should mention the obvious inspiration at some point

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I can't run it, but it looks really awesome!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Awesome - the first time that I did several hops in a row to narrowly avoid the triangles I felt like a real champ!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:28am

Very adictive game =) But not corresponding the theme in my opinion...

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:16am

Cool idea, this game is fun and good looking.

lasagnegames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:18am

clear, minimal but really cool!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:48am

Before I read the instructions, I thought the red circle were enemies and triangle were good. Otherwise it's a polished and relaxing game.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:55am

Beautiful!

Detocroix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Great feedback on destroying the cubes! Left right arrows would have worked better with my brain though :)

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very polished, the difficulty curve was perfect! Agree with others on the effect though, it felt "bad" when you picked them up

May 2, 2014 @ 3:39am

Super simple, well made, awesome looking game! I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:32am

har dto recognize the triangles when the screen shook. maybe color them in some way if you are going to keep working on it. Really beautiful :)

May 2, 2014 @ 9:54am

Very fun game, and feels very polished for an LD. Graphics are spot on!

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:03am

A very solid game, and the difficulty is just right.
However, those blue circles were not fun at all T_T

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:35am

Solid game mechanics and everything, though my eyes hurt having protons out by the electrons. The scientist in me cries out that this is not at all the Bohr's model. That apart, a really solid game as I said.

Would really have enjoyed it if the mechanics was to balance the charges of the atoms and have the electrons in the correct layers so that they don't emit to dangerous photons or even electrons or fusion events. That would have been absolutely awesome.

quantumpotato says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:45am

Fun game! Reminds me of Orbit1 for iOS

myachin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:28am

great!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Sweet! Best so far!
Although the triangles could have a different color to make them differ from the squares :)

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I find it hard to judge this fairly because it upsets me that you don't credit amidos2006's Atomic+ as the obvious inspiration.

Brodenino says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Fantastic work! Well executed, polished, and simple :)

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Sweet! Very simple mechanics but it works smoothly. I loved the audio, and the way you made these simple shapes look so gorgeous (kind of reminds of "Thomas Was Alone"). Amazing job!

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:12pm

The polish!! This is so polished... wow!
Gorgeous graphics and sounds! The game was really fun to play and kept playing think "just one more time... I'll go better than the previous and then stop"... I played for longer than I expected. XD

May 2, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Cool game. Really slick presentation. Mechanics are simple but fun. Awesome!

TomCooper3D says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:05pm

great stuff i found my comp would lagg a bit after collecting witch made it hard to control but cool idea and really polished gj

eugman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:11am

Great simple game, I really liked it.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:22am

One of the most unique entries I've seen so far. Clean and simple graphics and sounds make this fun little puzzler just feel right.

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:00am

I was on a mean streak but then I hit an electron and bounced immediately into tritons.

I wanted to see my score cause I was doing well but I accidentally delayed-reaction left-clicked after I lost =/

DragonXVI says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:45am

Making the things that kill you the same colour as the pickups, and the things that don't kill you red seems an odd choice, but the rest is really well put together. Simple and well polished!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Simple and very fun! Very cool idea!

Katamori says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Great concept, decent implementation.

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Great concept, and really fun! At first I was collecting the triangles and avoiding the red until I read the rules. Odd choice, but it was something different. :)

recursor says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I like the simple game mechanics and the ramp up (fairly quickly) in game difficulty. Nice job on the whole thing. It is quite fun.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really amazing and lovely game. I was able to show this to some of the kids in my game development club and they were super addicted. Of course, I followed suite. :) Wonderful visuals, great and simple gameplay, it is really fantastic!

Cybs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:15am

great game, really polished

May 4, 2014 @ 8:38am

Ohh, neat. Love the punchy effects and the music :)

Hail Hydra.

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Perfect game, relaxing, fun and polished!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Slick and juicy. Nicely implemented.

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hard, fun, and nicely polished (particularly given it was made in 14 hours). Good going!

BooleanByte says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice. Simpel but challenging and fun. realy like it

cirpig29 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:09pm

In short: WOW!

Chronoberry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:41am

That was awesome! Took me a while to figure out that I should avoid the triangles cause the glowing red death balls looked way more menacing.

May 5, 2014 @ 1:11am

Fun and interesting! Sometimes the triangle pop up in difficult to react to places, but otherwise it's quite good.

Fasox says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:24am

love the graphics, the gameplay and the audio.
I just cant find the relation with the theme

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I love this! Nothing much to say, this is great, good job!

Catman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice little game, really polished. Interesting color palette, too. Nice job!

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:14am

Very very original, very innovative! Awesome for 14 hours too!

Simon says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:06am

Very great mood and gameplay!

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Very cool! It's very addictive

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Fantastic presentation. Was expecting a puzzle game from the screenshots, was pleasantly surprised to find it wasn't.

May 9, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Was lagging a lot on my computer every time I collected a square, so much as to render it practically unplayable. Seemed fun though.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really polished and fun, but the idea of playing as a neutron orbiting a nucleus caused me to unlearn some high school chemistry.

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice concept and cool graphics! Would have deserve a few more mecanism IMHO, but already quite solid as a minimalist game.
Cheers for your first Ludum Dare.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:37am

What an amazing game, very well done - even though its connection to the theme is tenuous at best... You should totally market this as a mobile app! Hail Hydra!

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I feel collision sound effects is a bit painful... But very very beautiful music and design! I enjoyed playing:)

shadow64 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice simple graphics and gameplay. I enjoyed the music a lot. It really is a fun game that I could easily see being expanded into a full commercial work. Well done and thanks for sharing. :D

The speed increase when you bounce is a little bit too much, but I'm sure I could get used to it as I got better. Keeps me on my toes.

This is a really awesome first entry. Very polished and well designed.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Really good fun. At first it felt a bit slow, but it soon got going once the changing direction and triangles came into play. Lovely visual style.

Anny says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Really liked it! But it made me feel a little dizzy after a while haha

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:36pm

This had kind of a Game & Watch feel, as it has a clear, and fun concept with simple controls, and gets faster and faster the more you play. ...Okay, a lot of games are like that, but this is the first one I've played here so far that really gave me that vibe. And that's a good thing!

The game may have been a bit too simple, though; it would have been nice to see some other types of items/hazards appear later on. Nevertheless, this game is still good fun.

May 18, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Innovative game, addictive and could see it working well on a mobile.

mcapraro says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:39pm

love the fluidity of this game, and the concept is really neat. well done!

illugion says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Cool game! Simple but fun and addictive, got really hard when it was too fast, its hard to see whats bad because everything is the same color and spinning haha

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]